• Christoph Hellwig's avatar
    Add generic sys_ipc wrapper · baed7fc9
    Christoph Hellwig authored
    Add a generic implementation of the ipc demultiplexer syscall.  Except for
    s390 and sparc64 all implementations of the sys_ipc are nearly identical.
    
    There are slight differences in the types of the parameters, where mips
    and powerpc as the only 64-bit architectures with sys_ipc use unsigned
    long for the "third" argument as it gets casted to a pointer later, while
    it traditionally is an "int" like most other paramters.  frv goes even
    further and uses unsigned long for all parameters execept for "ptr" which
    is a pointer type everywhere.  The change from int to unsigned long for
    "third" and back to "int" for the others on frv should be fine due to the
    in-register calling conventions for syscalls (we already had a similar
    issue with the generic sys_ptrace), but I'd prefer to have the arch
    maintainers looks over this in details.
    
    Except for that h8300, m68k and m68knommu lack an impplementation of the
    semtimedop sub call which this patch adds, and various architectures have
    gets used - at least on i386 it seems superflous as the compat code on
    x86-64 and ia64 doesn't even bother to implement it.
    
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add sys_ipc to sys_ni.c]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
    Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarJesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Acked-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarKyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    baed7fc9
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
alpha Loading commit data...
arm Loading commit data...
avr32 Loading commit data...
blackfin Loading commit data...
cris Loading commit data...
frv Loading commit data...
h8300 Loading commit data...
ia64 Loading commit data...
m32r Loading commit data...
m68k Loading commit data...
m68knommu Loading commit data...
microblaze Loading commit data...
mips Loading commit data...
mn10300 Loading commit data...
parisc Loading commit data...
powerpc Loading commit data...
s390 Loading commit data...
score Loading commit data...
sh Loading commit data...
sparc Loading commit data...
um Loading commit data...
x86 Loading commit data...
xtensa Loading commit data...
.gitignore Loading commit data...
Kconfig Loading commit data...