• Sam Ravnborg's avatar
    kbuild: use INSTALLKERNEL to select customized installkernel script · caa27b66
    Sam Ravnborg authored
    Replace the use of CROSS_COMPILE to select a customized
    installkernel script with the possibility to set INSTALLKERNEL
    to select a custom installkernel script when running make:
    
        make INSTALLKERNEL=arm-installkernel install
    
    With this patch we are now more consistent across
    different architectures - they did not all support use
    of CROSS_COMPILE.
    
    The use of CROSS_COMPILE was a hack as this really belongs
    to gcc/binutils and the installkernel script does not change
    just because we change toolchain.
    
    The use of CROSS_COMPILE caused troubles with an upcoming patch
    that saves CROSS_COMPILE when a kernel is built - it would no
    longer be installable.
    [Thanks to Peter Z. for this hint]
    
    This patch undos what Ian did in commit:
    
      0f8e2d62
      ("use ${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel in arch/*/boot/install.sh")
    
    The patch has been lightly tested on x86 only - but all changes
    looks obvious.
    Acked-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [blackfin]
    Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> [arm]
    Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> [sh]
    Acked-by: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> [x86]
    Cc: Ian Campbell <icampbell@arcom.com>
    Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> [ia64]
    Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> [ia64]
    Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> [m32r]
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k]
    Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> [parisc]
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> [powerpc]
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> [s390]
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> [x86]
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> [x86]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
    caa27b66