• David Howells's avatar
    Fix IRQ flag handling naming · df9ee292
    David Howells authored
    Fix the IRQ flag handling naming.  In linux/irqflags.h under one configuration,
    it maps:
    
    	local_irq_enable() -> raw_local_irq_enable()
    	local_irq_disable() -> raw_local_irq_disable()
    	local_irq_save() -> raw_local_irq_save()
    	...
    
    and under the other configuration, it maps:
    
    	raw_local_irq_enable() -> local_irq_enable()
    	raw_local_irq_disable() -> local_irq_disable()
    	raw_local_irq_save() -> local_irq_save()
    	...
    
    This is quite confusing.  There should be one set of names expected of the
    arch, and this should be wrapped to give another set of names that are expected
    by users of this facility.
    
    Change this to have the arch provide:
    
    	flags = arch_local_save_flags()
    	flags = arch_local_irq_save()
    	arch_local_irq_restore(flags)
    	arch_local_irq_disable()
    	arch_local_irq_enable()
    	arch_irqs_disabled_flags(flags)
    	arch_irqs_disabled()
    	arch_safe_halt()
    
    Then linux/irqflags.h wraps these to provide:
    
    	raw_local_save_flags(flags)
    	raw_local_irq_save(flags)
    	raw_local_irq_restore(flags)
    	raw_local_irq_disable()
    	raw_local_irq_enable()
    	raw_irqs_disabled_flags(flags)
    	raw_irqs_disabled()
    	raw_safe_halt()
    
    with type checking on the flags 'arguments', and then wraps those to provide:
    
    	local_save_flags(flags)
    	local_irq_save(flags)
    	local_irq_restore(flags)
    	local_irq_disable()
    	local_irq_enable()
    	irqs_disabled_flags(flags)
    	irqs_disabled()
    	safe_halt()
    
    with tracing included if enabled.
    
    The arch functions can now all be inline functions rather than some of them
    having to be macros.
    
    Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> [X86, FRV, MN10300]
    Signed-off-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> [Tile]
    Signed-off-by: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> [Microblaze]
    Tested-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> [ARM]
    Acked-by: 's avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Acked-by: Haavard Skinnemoen <haavard.skinnemoen@atmel.com> [AVR]
    Acked-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> [IA-64]
    Acked-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> [M32R]
    Acked-by: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> [M68K/M68KNOMMU]
    Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> [MIPS]
    Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> [PA-RISC]
    Acked-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> [PowerPC]
    Acked-by: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> [S390]
    Acked-by: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> [Score]
    Acked-by: Matt Fleming <matt@console-pimps.org> [SH]
    Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> [Sparc]
    Acked-by: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> [Xtensa]
    Reviewed-by: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> [Alpha]
    Reviewed-by: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> [H8300]
    Cc: starvik@axis.com [CRIS]
    Cc: jesper.nilsson@axis.com [CRIS]
    Cc: linux-cris-kernel@axis.com
    df9ee292
irqflags.h 1.47 KB