Commit c2e13037 authored by Uwe Kleine-König's avatar Uwe Kleine-König Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman
Browse files

platform-drivers: move probe to .devinit.text in drivers/video



A pointer to a probe callback is passed to the core via
platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
.init sections are discarded.  Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
oops as does a device being registered late.

An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
from the struct platform_driver.
Signed-off-by: default avatarUwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
Cc: Alberto Mardegan <mardy@users.sourceforge.net>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andriy Skulysh <askulysh@gmail.com>
Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
Cc: Anton Vorontsov <avorontsov@ru.mvista.com>
Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
Cc: Chandramouli Narayanan <mouli@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
Cc: Joshua Kinard <kumba@gentoo.org>
Cc: Kaj-Michael Lang <milang@tal.org>
Cc: Krzysztof Helt <krzysztof.h1@poczta.fm>
Cc: linux-fbdev-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: Maciej W. Rozycki <macro@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Magnus Damm <damm@igel.co.jp>
Cc: Martin Michlmayr <tbm@cyrius.com>
Cc: Matthias Kaehlcke <matthias@kaehlcke.net>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@suse.cz>
Cc: Philipp Zabel <philipp.zabel@gmail.com>
Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net>
Cc: Roel Kluin <roel.kluin@gmail.com>
Cc: Roland Stigge <stigge@antcom.de>
Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Vincent Sanders <vince@simtec.co.uk>
Cc: Yoichi Yuasa <yoichi_yuasa@tripeaks.co.jp>
Acked-by: default avatarRalf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Acked-by: default avatarArnaud Patard <arnaud.patard@rtp-net.org>
Acked-by: default avatarJames Simmons <jsimmons@infradead.org>
Acked-by: default avatarPeter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarJaya Kumar <jayakumar.lkml@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
parent 1b07193b
......@@ -1221,7 +1221,7 @@ free_unused_pages(unsigned int virtual_start, unsigned int virtual_end)
printk("acornfb: freed %dK memory\n", mb_freed);
}
static int __init acornfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit acornfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
unsigned long size;
u_int h_sync, v_sync;
......
......@@ -504,7 +504,7 @@ static struct fb_ops arcfb_ops = {
.fb_ioctl = arcfb_ioctl,
};
static int __init arcfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit arcfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
int retval = -ENOMEM;
......
......@@ -287,7 +287,7 @@ static struct fb_ops cobalt_lcd_fbops = {
.fb_cursor = cobalt_lcdfb_cursor,
};
static int __init cobalt_lcdfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit cobalt_lcdfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
struct resource *res;
......
......@@ -210,7 +210,7 @@ static int __init efifb_setup(char *options)
return 0;
}
static int __init efifb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit efifb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
int err;
......
......@@ -602,7 +602,7 @@ static int epson1355fb_remove(struct platform_device *dev)
return 0;
}
int __init epson1355fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
int __devinit epson1355fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct epson1355_par *default_par;
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -1128,7 +1128,7 @@ static int __init gbefb_setup(char *options)
return 0;
}
static int __init gbefb_probe(struct platform_device *p_dev)
static int __devinit gbefb_probe(struct platform_device *p_dev)
{
int i, ret = 0;
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -551,7 +551,7 @@ static struct fb_ops hgafb_ops = {
* Initialization
*/
static int __init hgafb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
static int __devinit hgafb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -325,7 +325,7 @@ static struct fb_ops hitfb_ops = {
.fb_imageblit = cfb_imageblit,
};
static int __init hitfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit hitfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
unsigned short lcdclor, ldr3, ldvndr;
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -85,7 +85,7 @@ static struct fb_ops q40fb_ops = {
.fb_imageblit = cfb_imageblit,
};
static int __init q40fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit q40fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -1004,12 +1004,12 @@ dealloc_fb:
return ret;
}
static int __init s3c2410fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
static int __devinit s3c2410fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
return s3c24xxfb_probe(pdev, DRV_S3C2410);
}
static int __init s3c2412fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
static int __devinit s3c2412fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
return s3c24xxfb_probe(pdev, DRV_S3C2412);
}
......
......@@ -1435,7 +1435,7 @@ static struct sa1100fb_info * __init sa1100fb_init_fbinfo(struct device *dev)
return fbi;
}
static int __init sa1100fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
static int __devinit sa1100fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
struct sa1100fb_info *fbi;
int ret, irq;
......
......@@ -745,7 +745,7 @@ int __init sgivwfb_setup(char *options)
/*
* Initialisation
*/
static int __init sgivwfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit sgivwfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct sgivw_par *par;
struct fb_info *info;
......
......@@ -943,7 +943,7 @@ static const struct dev_pm_ops sh_mobile_lcdc_dev_pm_ops = {
static int sh_mobile_lcdc_remove(struct platform_device *pdev);
static int __init sh_mobile_lcdc_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
static int __devinit sh_mobile_lcdc_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
struct sh_mobile_lcdc_priv *priv;
......
......@@ -226,7 +226,7 @@ static int __init vesafb_setup(char *options)
return 0;
}
static int __init vesafb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit vesafb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
int i, err;
......
......@@ -479,7 +479,7 @@ static int __init vfb_setup(char *options)
* Initialisation
*/
static int __init vfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit vfb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
int retval = -ENOMEM;
......
......@@ -1293,7 +1293,7 @@ static int vga16fb_setup(char *options)
}
#endif
static int __init vga16fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
static int __devinit vga16fb_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
struct fb_info *info;
struct vga16fb_par *par;
......
......@@ -628,7 +628,7 @@ static int w100fb_resume(struct platform_device *dev)
#endif
int __init w100fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
int __devinit w100fb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
int err = -EIO;
struct w100fb_mach_info *inf;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment