Commit 4f5f71a7 authored by Guenter Roeck's avatar Guenter Roeck
Browse files

hwmon: (coretemp) Fix TjMax detection for older CPUs

Commit a321cedb excludes CPU models 0xe, 0xf,
0x16, and 0x1a from TjMax temperature adjustment, even though several of those
CPUs are known to have TiMax other than 100 degrees C, and even though the code
in adjust_tjmax() explicitly handles those CPUs and points to a Web document
listing several of the affected CPU IDs.

Reinstate original TjMax adjustment if TjMax can not be determined using the
IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET register.

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=32582



Signed-off-by: default avatarGuenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>
Cc: Huaxu Wan <huaxu.wan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Carsten Emde <C.Emde@osadl.org>
Cc: Valdis Kletnieks <valdis.kletnieks@vt.edu>
Cc: Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@hmh.eng.br>
Cc: Yong Wang <yong.y.wang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rudolf Marek <r.marek@assembler.cz>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Tested-by: default avatarJean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>
Acked-by: default avatarJean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>
Acked-by: default avatarFenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org> # .35.x .36.x .37.x .38.x .39.x
parent 4c6e0f81
......@@ -304,24 +304,9 @@ static int get_tjmax(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c, u32 id, struct device *dev)
/*
* An assumption is made for early CPUs and unreadable MSR.
* NOTE: the given value may not be correct.
* NOTE: the calculated value may not be correct.
*/
switch (c->x86_model) {
case 0xe:
case 0xf:
case 0x16:
case 0x1a:
dev_warn(dev, "TjMax is assumed as 100 C!\n");
return 100000;
case 0x17:
case 0x1c: /* Atom CPUs */
return adjust_tjmax(c, id, dev);
default:
dev_warn(dev, "CPU (model=0x%x) is not supported yet,"
" using default TjMax of 100C.\n", c->x86_model);
return 100000;
}
return adjust_tjmax(c, id, dev);
}
static void __devinit get_ucode_rev_on_cpu(void *edx)
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment