• Mel Gorman's avatar
    mm: page_alloc: hide some GFP internals and document the bits and flag combinations · dd56b046
    Mel Gorman authored
    Andrew stated the following
    
    	We have quite a history of remote parts of the kernel using
    	weird/wrong/inexplicable combinations of __GFP_ flags.	I tend
    	to think that this is because we didn't adequately explain the
    	interface.
    
    	And I don't think that gfp.h really improved much in this area as
    	a result of this patchset.  Could you go through it some time and
    	decide if we've adequately documented all this stuff?
    
    This patches first moves some GFP flag combinations that are part of the MM
    internals to mm/internal.h. The rest of the patch documents the __GFP_FOO
    bits under various headings and then documents the flag combinations. It
    will not help callers that are brain damaged but the clarity might motivate
    some fixes and avoid future mistakes.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Cc: Vitaly Wool <vitalywool@gmail.com>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    dd56b046
gfp.h 20.5 KB