• Christoph Hellwig's avatar
    Add generic sys_ipc wrapper · baed7fc9
    Christoph Hellwig authored
    Add a generic implementation of the ipc demultiplexer syscall.  Except for
    s390 and sparc64 all implementations of the sys_ipc are nearly identical.
    There are slight differences in the types of the parameters, where mips
    and powerpc as the only 64-bit architectures with sys_ipc use unsigned
    long for the "third" argument as it gets casted to a pointer later, while
    it traditionally is an "int" like most other paramters.  frv goes even
    further and uses unsigned long for all parameters execept for "ptr" which
    is a pointer type everywhere.  The change from int to unsigned long for
    "third" and back to "int" for the others on frv should be fine due to the
    in-register calling conventions for syscalls (we already had a similar
    issue with the generic sys_ptrace), but I'd prefer to have the arch
    maintainers looks over this in details.
    Except for that h8300, m68k and m68knommu lack an impplementation of the
    semtimedop sub call which this patch adds, and various architectures have
    gets used - at least on i386 it seems superflous as the compat code on
    x86-64 and ia64 doesn't even bother to implement it.
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add sys_ipc to sys_ni.c]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
    Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarJesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Acked-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarKyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
unistd.h 10.4 KB