• Alexandre Bounine's avatar
    rapidio: change endpoint device name format · 6ca40c25
    Alexandre Bounine authored
    
    
    Change endpoint device name format to use a component tag value instead of
    device destination ID.
    
    RapidIO specification defines a component tag to be a unique identifier
    for devices in a network.  RapidIO switches already use component tag as
    part of their device name and also use it for device identification when
    processing error management event notifications.
    
    Forming an endpoint's device name using its component tag instead of
    destination ID allows to keep sysfs device directories unchanged in case
    if a routing process dynamically changes endpoint's destination ID as a
    result of route optimization.
    
    This change should not affect any existing users because a valid device
    destination ID always should be obtained by reading "destid" attribute and
    not by parsing device name.
    
    This patch also removes switchid member from struct rio_switch because it
    simply duplicates the component tag and does not have other use than in
    device name generation.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAlexandre Bounine <alexandre.bounine@idt.com>
    Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Li Yang <leoli@freescale.com>
    Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Andre van Herk <andre.van.herk@Prodrive.nl>
    Cc: Micha Nelissen <micha.nelissen@Prodrive.nl>
    Cc: Stef van Os <stef.van.os@Prodrive.nl>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    6ca40c25
rio-scan.c 32.4 KB