• Tom Gundersen's avatar
    cfg80211: pass name_assign_type to rdev_add_virtual_intf() · 6bab2e19
    Tom Gundersen authored
    This will expose in /sys whether the ifname of a device is set by
    userspace or generated by the kernel. The latter kind (wlanX, etc)
    is not deterministic, so userspace needs to rename these devices
    to names that are guaranteed to stay the same between reboots. The
    former, however should never be renamed, so userspace needs to be
    able to reliably tell the difference.
    
    Similar functionality was introduced for the rtnetlink core in
    commit 5517750f ("net: rtnetlink - make create_link take name_assign_type")
    Signed-off-by: default avatarTom Gundersen <teg@jklm.no>
    Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@qca.qualcomm.com>
    Cc: Brett Rudley <brudley@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Arend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Franky (Zhenhui) Lin <frankyl@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Hante Meuleman <meuleman@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>
    [reformat changelog to fit 72 cols]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarJohannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>
    6bab2e19
ioctl_cfg80211.c 90.5 KB