• Andrew Morton's avatar
    [PATCH] fix possible PAGE_CACHE_SHIFT overflows · 54b21a79
    Andrew Morton authored
    
    
    We've had two instances recently of overflows when doing
    
    	64_bit_value = (32_bit_value << PAGE_CACHE_SHIFT)
    
    I did a tree-wide grep of `<<.*PAGE_CACHE_SHIFT' and this is the result.
    
    - afs_rxfs_fetch_descriptor.offset is of type off_t, which seems broken.
    
    - jfs and jffs are limited to 4GB anyway.
    
    - reiserfs map_block_for_writepage() takes an unsigned long for the block -
      it should take sector_t.  (It'll fail for huge filesystems with
      blocksize<PAGE_CACHE_SIZE)
    
    - cramfs_read() needs to use sector_t (I think cramsfs is busted on large
      filesystems anyway)
    
    - affs is limited in file size anyway.
    
    - I generally didn't fix 32-bit overflows in directory operations.
    
    - arm's __flush_dcache_page() is peculiar.  What if the page lies beyond 4G?
    
    - gss_wrap_req_priv() needs checking (snd_buf->page_base)
    
    Cc: Oleg Drokin <green@linuxhacker.ru>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
    Cc: <reiserfs-dev@namesys.com>
    Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Anton Altaparmakov <aia21@cantab.net>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
    Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>
    Cc: Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>
    Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no>
    Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
    54b21a79
inode-v23.c 47.7 KB