1. 18 Sep, 2012 1 commit
  2. 15 Jul, 2012 2 commits
  3. 04 Jul, 2012 1 commit
    • Ohad Ben-Cohen's avatar
      remoteproc: allocate vrings on demand, free when not needed · 6db20ea8
      Ohad Ben-Cohen authored
      Dynamically allocate the vrings' DMA when the remote processor
      is about to be powered on (i.e. when ->find_vqs() is invoked),
      and release them as soon as it is powered off (i.e. when ->del_vqs()
      is invoked).
      
      The obvious and immediate benefit is better memory utilization, since
      memory for the vrings is now only allocated when the relevant remote
      processor is used.
      
      Additionally, this approach also makes recovery of a (crashing)
      remote processor easier: one just needs to remove the relevant
      vdevs, and the entire vrings cleanup takes place automagically.
      Tested-by: default avatarFernando Guzman Lugo <fernando.lugo@ti.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
      6db20ea8
  4. 06 Mar, 2012 1 commit
    • Ohad Ben-Cohen's avatar
      remoteproc: remove the single rpmsg vdev limitation · 7a186941
      Ohad Ben-Cohen authored
      Now that the resource table supports publishing a virtio device
      in a single resource entry, firmware images can start supporting
      more than a single vdev.
      
      This patch removes the single vdev limitation of the remoteproc
      framework so multi-vdev firmwares can be leveraged: VDEV resource
      entries are parsed when the rproc is registered, and as a result
      their vrings are set up and the virtio devices are registered
      (and they go away when the rproc goes away).
      
      Moreover, we no longer only support VIRTIO_ID_RPMSG vdevs; any
      virtio device type goes now. As a result, there's no more any
      rpmsg-specific APIs or code in remoteproc: it all becomes generic
      virtio handling.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
      Cc: Brian Swetland <swetland@google.com>
      Cc: Iliyan Malchev <malchev@google.com>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: Mark Grosen <mgrosen@ti.com>
      Cc: John Williams <john.williams@petalogix.com>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Loic PALLARDY <loic.pallardy@stericsson.com>
      Cc: Ludovic BARRE <ludovic.barre@stericsson.com>
      Cc: Omar Ramirez Luna <omar.luna@linaro.org>
      Cc: Guzman Lugo Fernando <fernando.lugo@ti.com>
      Cc: Anna Suman <s-anna@ti.com>
      Cc: Clark Rob <rob@ti.com>
      Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Saravana Kannan <skannan@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: David Brown <davidb@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Kieran Bingham <kieranbingham@gmail.com>
      Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
      7a186941
  5. 08 Feb, 2012 1 commit
    • Ohad Ben-Cohen's avatar
      remoteproc: add framework for controlling remote processors · 400e64df
      Ohad Ben-Cohen authored
      Modern SoCs typically employ a central symmetric multiprocessing (SMP)
      application processor running Linux, with several other asymmetric
      multiprocessing (AMP) heterogeneous processors running different instances
      of operating system, whether Linux or any other flavor of real-time OS.
      
      Booting a remote processor in an AMP configuration typically involves:
      - Loading a firmware which contains the OS image
      - Allocating and providing it required system resources (e.g. memory)
      - Programming an IOMMU (when relevant)
      - Powering on the device
      
      This patch introduces a generic framework that allows drivers to do
      that. In the future, this framework will also include runtime power
      management and error recovery.
      
      Based on (but now quite far from) work done by Fernando Guzman Lugo
      <fernando.lugo@ti.com>.
      
      ELF loader was written by Mark Grosen <mgrosen@ti.com>, based on
      msm's Peripheral Image Loader (PIL) by Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>.
      
      Designed with Brian Swetland <swetland@google.com>.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarGrant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: Brian Swetland <swetland@google.com>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
      400e64df