1. 23 Aug, 2013 1 commit
  2. 09 Jul, 2013 1 commit
    • Chanho Min's avatar
      lib: add lz4 compressor module · c72ac7a1
      Chanho Min authored
      This patchset is for supporting LZ4 compression and the crypto API using
      it.
      
      As shown below, the size of data is a little bit bigger but compressing
      speed is faster under the enabled unaligned memory access.  We can use
      lz4 de/compression through crypto API as well.  Also, It will be useful
      for another potential user of lz4 compression.
      
      lz4 Compression Benchmark:
      Compiler: ARM gcc 4.6.4
      ARMv7, 1 GHz based board
         Kernel: linux 3.4
         Uncompressed data Size: 101 MB
               Compressed Size  compression Speed
         LZO   72.1MB		  32.1MB/s, 33.0MB/s(UA)
         LZ4   75.1MB		  30.4MB/s, 35.9MB/s(UA)
         LZ4HC 59.8MB		   2.4MB/s,  2.5MB/s(UA)
      - UA: Unaligned memory Access support
      - Latest patch set for LZO applied
      
      This patch:
      
      Add support for LZ4 compression in the Linux Kernel.  LZ4 Compression APIs
      for kernel are based on LZ4 implementation by Yann Collet and were changed
      for kernel coding style.
      
      LZ4 homepage : http://fastcompression.blogspot.com/p/lz4.html
      LZ4 source repository : http://code.google.com/p/lz4/
      svn revision : r90
      
      Two APIs are added:
      
      lz4_compress() support basic lz4 compression whereas lz4hc_compress()
      support high compression or CPU performance get lower but compression
      ratio get higher.  Also, we require the pre-allocated working memory with
      the defined size and destination buffer must be allocated with the size of
      lz4_compressbound.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: make lz4_compresshcctx() static]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>
      Cc: "Darrick J. Wong" <djwong@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Bob Pearson <rpearson@systemfabricworks.com>
      Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
      Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.hengli.com.au>
      Cc: Yann Collet <yann.collet.73@gmail.com>
      Cc: Kyungsik Lee <kyungsik.lee@lge.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      c72ac7a1