1. 17 Feb, 2014 1 commit
  2. 25 Sep, 2013 1 commit
  3. 10 Jun, 2013 1 commit
  4. 28 May, 2013 1 commit
  5. 27 Apr, 2013 1 commit
    • Paul E. McKenney's avatar
      kthread: Document ways of reducing OS jitter due to per-CPU kthreads · 49717cb4
      Paul E. McKenney authored
      The Linux kernel uses a number of per-CPU kthreads, any of which might
      contribute to OS jitter at any time.  The usual approach to normal
      kthreads, namely to bind them to a "housekeeping" CPU, does not work
      with these kthreads because they cannot operate correctly if moved to
      some other CPU.  This commit therefore lists ways of controlling OS
      jitter from the Linux kernel's per-CPU kthreads.  It also lists some
      ways of diagnosing excessive jitter.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
      Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
      Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Olivier Baetz <olivier.baetz@novasparks.com>
      Cc: Pradeep Satyanarayana <pradeeps@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarRandy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
      49717cb4