1. 03 Jun, 2011 1 commit
  2. 24 Mar, 2009 1 commit
    • Thomas Gleixner's avatar
      genirq: add threaded interrupt handler support · 3aa551c9
      Thomas Gleixner authored
      Add support for threaded interrupt handlers:
      A device driver can request that its main interrupt handler runs in a
      thread. To achive this the device driver requests the interrupt with
      request_threaded_irq() and provides additionally to the handler a
      thread function. The handler function is called in hard interrupt
      context and needs to check whether the interrupt originated from the
      device. If the interrupt originated from the device then the handler
      can either return IRQ_HANDLED or IRQ_WAKE_THREAD. IRQ_HANDLED is
      returned when no further action is required. IRQ_WAKE_THREAD causes
      the genirq code to invoke the threaded (main) handler. When
      IRQ_WAKE_THREAD is returned handler must have disabled the interrupt
      on the device level. This is mandatory for shared interrupt handlers,
      but we need to do it as well for obscure x86 hardware where disabling
      an interrupt on the IO_APIC level redirects the interrupt to the
      legacy PIC interrupt lines.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
  3. 13 Mar, 2009 1 commit
  4. 23 Jun, 2006 1 commit
    • Jan Beulich's avatar
      [PATCH] adjust handle_IRR_event() return type · 908dcecd
      Jan Beulich authored
      Correct the return type of handle_IRQ_event() (inconsistency noticed during
      Xen development), and remove redundant declarations.  The return type
      adjustment required breaking out the definition of irqreturn_t into a
      separate header, in order to satisfy current include order dependencies.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>