1. 09 Jan, 2015 1 commit
  2. 10 Aug, 2012 2 commits
    • Jiri Olsa's avatar
      perf: Add ability to attach user level registers dump to sample · 4018994f
      Jiri Olsa authored
      Introducing PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_USER sample type bit to trigger the dump of
      user level registers on sample. Registers we want to dump are specified
      by sample_regs_user bitmask.
      
      Only user level registers are dumped at the moment. Meaning the register
      values of the user space context as it was before the user entered the
      kernel for whatever reason (syscall, irq, exception, or a PMI happening
      in userspace).
      
      The layout of the sample_regs_user bitmap is described in
      asm/perf_regs.h for archs that support register dump.
      
      This is going to be useful to bring Dwarf CFI based stack unwinding on
      top of samples.
      Original-patch-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      [ Dump registers ABI specification. ]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
      Suggested-by: default avatarStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
      Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com>
      Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Redelings <benjamin.redelings@nescent.org>
      Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
      Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
      Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
      Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@gmail.com>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1344345647-11536-3-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.comSigned-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
      4018994f
    • Jiri Olsa's avatar
      perf: Unified API to record selective sets of arch registers · c5e63197
      Jiri Olsa authored
      This brings a new API to help the selective dump of registers on event
      sampling, and its implementation for x86 arch.
      
      Added HAVE_PERF_REGS config option to determine if the architecture
      provides perf registers ABI.
      
      The information about desired registers will be passed in u64 mask.
      It's up to the architecture to map the registers into the mask bits.
      
      For the x86 arch implementation, both 32 and 64 bit registers bits are
      defined within single enum to ensure 64 bit system can provide register
      dump for compat task if needed in the future.
      Original-patch-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      [ Added missing linux/errno.h include ]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
      Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com>
      Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Redelings <benjamin.redelings@nescent.org>
      Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
      Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
      Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
      Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@gmail.com>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1344345647-11536-2-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.comSigned-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
      c5e63197