1. 17 Aug, 2016 3 commits
  2. 01 Aug, 2016 1 commit
    • Marc Zyngier's avatar
      clocksource/arm_arch_timer: Force per-CPU interrupt to be level-triggered · f005bd7e
      Marc Zyngier authored
      The ARM architected timer produces level-triggered interrupts (this
      is mandated by the architecture). Unfortunately, a number of
      device-trees get this wrong, and expose an edge-triggered interrupt.
      
      Until now, this wasn't too much an issue, as the programming of the
      trigger would fail (the corresponding PPI cannot be reconfigured),
      and the kernel would be happy with this. But we're about to change
      this, and trust DT a lot if the driver doesn't provide its own
      trigger information. In that context, the timer breaks badly.
      
      While we do need to fix the DTs, there is also some userspace out
      there (kvmtool) that generates the same kind of broken DT on the
      fly, and that will completely break with newer kernels.
      
      As a safety measure, and to keep buggy software alive as well as
      buying us some time to fix DTs all over the place, let's check
      what trigger configuration has been given us by the firmware.
      If this is not a level configuration, then we know that the
      DT/ACPI configuration is bust, and we pick some defaults which
      won't be worse than the existing setup.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMarc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
      Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
      Cc: Liu Gang <Gang.Liu@nxp.com>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <marc.rutland@arm.com>
      Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
      Cc: Wenbin Song <Wenbin.Song@freescale.com>
      Cc: Mingkai Hu <Mingkai.Hu@freescale.com>
      Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
      Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>
      Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
      Cc: Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>
      Cc: arm@kernel.org
      Cc: bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com
      Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com>
      Cc: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
      Cc: Ray Jui <rjui@broadcom.com>
      Cc: "Hou Zhiqiang" <B48286@freescale.com>
      Cc: Tirumalesh Chalamarla <tchalamarla@cavium.com>
      Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Yuan Yao <yao.yuan@nxp.com>
      Cc: Jan Glauber <jglauber@cavium.com>
      Cc: Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com>
      Cc: linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: soren.brinkmann@xilinx.com
      Cc: Rajesh Bhagat <rajesh.bhagat@freescale.com>
      Cc: Scott Branden <sbranden@broadcom.com>
      Cc: Duc Dang <dhdang@apm.com>
      Cc: Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>
      Cc: Carlo Caione <carlo@caione.org>
      Cc: Dinh Nguyen <dinguyen@opensource.altera.com>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470045256-9032-2-git-send-email-marc.zyngier@arm.comSigned-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      f005bd7e
  3. 15 Jul, 2016 9 commits
  4. 12 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  5. 07 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  6. 06 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  7. 28 Jun, 2016 24 commits