1. 08 Dec, 2015 1 commit
  2. 03 Aug, 2015 1 commit
    • Sascha Hauer's avatar
      thermal: consistently use int for temperatures · 17e8351a
      Sascha Hauer authored
      The thermal code uses int, long and unsigned long for temperatures
      in different places.
      
      Using an unsigned type limits the thermal framework to positive
      temperatures without need. Also several drivers currently will report
      temperatures near UINT_MAX for temperatures below 0°C. This will probably
      immediately shut the machine down due to overtemperature if started below
      0°C.
      
      'long' is 64bit on several architectures. This is not needed since INT_MAX °mC
      is above the melting point of all known materials.
      
      Consistently use a plain 'int' for temperatures throughout the thermal code and
      the drivers. This only changes the places in the drivers where the temperature
      is passed around as pointer, when drivers internally use another type this is
      not changed.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarGeert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarJean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarLukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarDarren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarHeiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarPeter Feuerer <peter@piie.net>
      Cc: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
      Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
      Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com>
      Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
      Cc: Peter Feuerer <peter@piie.net>
      Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
      Cc: Lukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com>
      Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org>
      Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
      Cc: linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
      Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
      Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>
      Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
      Cc: lm-sensors@lm-sensors.org
      Signed-off-by: default avatarZhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
      17e8351a
  3. 30 Apr, 2015 1 commit
    • Ong, Boon Leong's avatar
      thermal: intel Quark SoC X1000 DTS thermal driver · 8c187693
      Ong, Boon Leong authored
      In Intel Quark SoC X1000, there is one on-die digital temperature sensor(DTS).
      The DTS offers both hot & critical trip points.
      
      However, in current distribution of UEFI BIOS for Quark platform, only
      critical trip point is configured to be 105 degree Celsius (based on Quark
      SW ver1.0.1 and hot trip point is not used due to lack of IRQ.
      
      There is no active cooling device for Quark SoC, so Quark SoC thermal
      management logic expects Linux distro to orderly power-off when temperature
      of the DTS exceeds the configured critical trip point.
      
      Kernel param "polling_delay" in milliseconds is used to control the frequency
      the DTS temperature is read by thermal framework. It defaults to 2-second.
      To change it, use kernel boot param "intel_quark_dts_thermal.polling_delay=X".
      
      User interacts with Quark SoC DTS thermal driver through sysfs via:
      /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/
      
      For example:
       - to read DTS temperature
         $ cat temp
       - to read critical trip point
         $ cat trip_point_0_temp
       - to read trip point type
         $ cat trip_point_0_type
       - to emulate temperature raise to test orderly shutdown by Linux distro
         $ echo 105 > emul_temp
      Tested-by: default avatarBryan O'Donoghue <pure.logic@nexus-software.ie>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOng Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@intel.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarBryan O'Donoghue <pure.logic@nexus-software.ie>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarKweh, Hock Leong <hock.leong.kweh@intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarZhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
      8c187693