1. 03 Jul, 2013 1 commit
  2. 24 Jun, 2013 1 commit
    • Thomas Pugliese's avatar
      USB: HWA: fix device probe failure · a8995751
      Thomas Pugliese authored
      This patch fixes a race condition that caused the HWA_HC interface probe
      function to occasionally fail.  The HWA_HC would attempt to register
      itself with the HWA_RC by searching for a uwb_rc class device with the
      same parent device ptr.  If the probe function for the HWA_RC interface
      had yet to run, the uwb_rc class device would not have been created
      causing the look up to fail and the HWA_HC probe function to return an
      error causing the device to be unusable.
      
      The fix is for the HWA to delay registering with the HWA_RC until
      receiving the command from userspace to start the wireless channel.  It
      is the responsibility of userspace to ensure that the uwb_rc class
      device has been created before starting the HWA channel.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Pugliese <thomas.pugliese@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      a8995751
  3. 06 Jun, 2013 1 commit
  4. 03 Jun, 2013 1 commit
  5. 21 May, 2013 2 commits
  6. 29 Apr, 2013 1 commit
  7. 06 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  8. 26 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  9. 15 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  10. 25 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  11. 18 Apr, 2012 2 commits
  12. 05 Apr, 2012 1 commit
    • Stephen Boyd's avatar
      simple_open: automatically convert to simple_open() · 234e3405
      Stephen Boyd authored
      Many users of debugfs copy the implementation of default_open() when
      they want to support a custom read/write function op.  This leads to a
      proliferation of the default_open() implementation across the entire
      tree.
      
      Now that the common implementation has been consolidated into libfs we
      can replace all the users of this function with simple_open().
      
      This replacement was done with the following semantic patch:
      
      <smpl>
      @ open @
      identifier open_f != simple_open;
      identifier i, f;
      @@
      -int open_f(struct inode *i, struct file *f)
      -{
      (
      -if (i->i_private)
      -f->private_data = i->i_private;
      |
      -f->private_data = i->i_private;
      )
      -return 0;
      -}
      
      @ has_open depends on open @
      identifier fops;
      identifier open.open_f;
      @@
      struct file_operations fops = {
      ...
      -.open = open_f,
      +.open = simple_open,
      ...
      };
      </smpl>
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: checkpatch fixes]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarStephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Julia Lawall <Julia.Lawall@lip6.fr>
      Acked-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      234e3405
  13. 23 Mar, 2012 1 commit
  14. 09 Dec, 2011 1 commit
  15. 02 Dec, 2011 1 commit
  16. 18 Nov, 2011 1 commit
    • Greg Kroah-Hartman's avatar
      USB: convert some miscellanies drivers to use module_usb_driver() · fe748483
      Greg Kroah-Hartman authored
      This converts the remaining USB drivers in the kernel to use the
      module_usb_driver() macro which makes the code smaller and a bit
      simpler.
      
      Added bonus is that it removes some unneeded kernel log messages about
      drivers loading and/or unloading.
      
      Cc: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>
      Cc: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>
      Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
      Cc: Till Harbaum <till@harbaum.org>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <isdn@linux-pingi.de>
      Cc: Chris Ball <cjb@laptop.org>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Lauro Ramos Venancio <lauro.venancio@openbossa.org>
      Cc: Aloisio Almeida Jr <aloisio.almeida@openbossa.org>
      Cc: Samuel Ortiz <sameo@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Steve Glendinning <steve.glendinning@smsc.com>
      Cc: Florian Tobias Schandinat <FlorianSchandinat@gmx.de>
      Cc: Evgeniy Polyakov <zbr@ioremap.net>
      Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jesper Juhl <jj@chaosbits.net>
      Cc: Artem Bityutskiy <Artem.Bityutskiy@nokia.com>
      Cc: Jamie Iles <jamie@jamieiles.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      fe748483
  17. 31 Oct, 2011 3 commits
  18. 15 Sep, 2011 1 commit
  19. 21 Jul, 2011 1 commit
  20. 10 Jun, 2011 1 commit
  21. 31 Mar, 2011 1 commit
  22. 25 Feb, 2011 1 commit
  23. 03 Dec, 2010 2 commits
  24. 16 Nov, 2010 1 commit
  25. 11 Nov, 2010 1 commit
  26. 25 Oct, 2010 1 commit
    • David Vrabel's avatar
      uwb: Remove the WLP subsystem and drivers · 446396bf
      David Vrabel authored
      The only Wimedia LLC Protocol (WLP) hardware was an Intel i1480 chip
      with a beta release of firmware that was never commercially available as
      a product.  This hardware and firmware is no longer available as Intel
      sold their UWB/WLP IP.  I also see little prospect of other WLP
      capable hardware ever being available.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Vrabel <david.vrabel@csr.com>
      446396bf
  27. 22 Oct, 2010 1 commit
  28. 13 Sep, 2010 1 commit
  29. 16 Jun, 2010 1 commit
  30. 30 Mar, 2010 1 commit
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      include cleanup: Update gfp.h and slab.h includes to prepare for breaking... · 5a0e3ad6
      Tejun Heo authored
      include cleanup: Update gfp.h and slab.h includes to prepare for breaking implicit slab.h inclusion from percpu.h
      
      percpu.h is included by sched.h and module.h and thus ends up being
      included when building most .c files.  percpu.h includes slab.h which
      in turn includes gfp.h making everything defined by the two files
      universally available and complicating inclusion dependencies.
      
      percpu.h -> slab.h dependency is about to be removed.  Prepare for
      this change by updating users of gfp and slab facilities include those
      headers directly instead of assuming availability.  As this conversion
      needs to touch large number of source files, the following script is
      used as the basis of conversion.
      
        http://userweb.kernel.org/~tj/misc/slabh-sweep.py
      
      The script does the followings.
      
      * Scan files for gfp and slab usages and update includes such that
        only the necessary includes are there.  ie. if only gfp is used,
        gfp.h, if slab is used, slab.h.
      
      * When the script inserts a new include, it looks at the include
        blocks and try to put the new include such that its order conforms
        to its surrounding.  It's put in the include block which contains
        core kernel includes, in the same order that the rest are ordered -
        alphabetical, Christmas tree, rev-Xmas-tree or at the end if there
        doesn't seem to be any matching order.
      
      * If the script can't find a place to put a new include (mostly
        because the file doesn't have fitting include block), it prints out
        an error message indicating which .h file needs to be added to the
        file.
      
      The conversion was done in the following steps.
      
      1. The initial automatic conversion of all .c files updated slightly
         over 4000 files, deleting around 700 includes and adding ~480 gfp.h
         and ~3000 slab.h inclusions.  The script emitted errors for ~400
         files.
      
      2. Each error was manually checked.  Some didn't need the inclusion,
         some needed manual addition while adding it to implementation .h or
         embedding .c file was more appropriate for others.  This step added
         inclusions to around 150 files.
      
      3. The script was run again and the output was compared to the edits
         from #2 to make sure no file was left behind.
      
      4. Several build tests were done and a couple of problems were fixed.
         e.g. lib/decompress_*.c used malloc/free() wrappers around slab
         APIs requiring slab.h to be added manually.
      
      5. The script was run on all .h files but without automatically
         editing them as sprinkling gfp.h and slab.h inclusions around .h
         files could easily lead to inclusion dependency hell.  Most gfp.h
         inclusion directives were ignored as stuff from gfp.h was usually
         wildly available and often used in preprocessor macros.  Each
         slab.h inclusion directive was examined and added manually as
         necessary.
      
      6. percpu.h was updated not to include slab.h.
      
      7. Build test were done on the following configurations and failures
         were fixed.  CONFIG_GCOV_KERNEL was turned off for all tests (as my
         distributed build env didn't work with gcov compiles) and a few
         more options had to be turned off depending on archs to make things
         build (like ipr on powerpc/64 which failed due to missing writeq).
      
         * x86 and x86_64 UP and SMP allmodconfig and a custom test config.
         * powerpc and powerpc64 SMP allmodconfig
         * sparc and sparc64 SMP allmodconfig
         * ia64 SMP allmodconfig
         * s390 SMP allmodconfig
         * alpha SMP allmodconfig
         * um on x86_64 SMP allmodconfig
      
      8. percpu.h modifications were reverted so that it could be applied as
         a separate patch and serve as bisection point.
      
      Given the fact that I had only a couple of failures from tests on step
      6, I'm fairly confident about the coverage of this conversion patch.
      If there is a breakage, it's likely to be something in one of the arch
      headers which should be easily discoverable easily on most builds of
      the specific arch.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Guess-its-ok-by: default avatarChristoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
      5a0e3ad6
  31. 07 Mar, 2010 3 commits
    • Greg Kroah-Hartman's avatar
      Driver core: create lock/unlock functions for struct device · 8e9394ce
      Greg Kroah-Hartman authored
      In the future, we are going to be changing the lock type for struct
      device (once we get the lockdep infrastructure properly worked out)  To
      make that changeover easier, and to possibly burry the lock in a
      different part of struct device, let's create some functions to lock and
      unlock a device so that no out-of-core code needs to be changed in the
      future.
      
      This patch creates the device_lock/unlock/trylock() functions, and
      converts all in-tree users to them.
      
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>
      Cc: Dave Young <hidave.darkstar@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ming Lei <tom.leiming@gmail.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Phil Carmody <ext-phil.2.carmody@nokia.com>
      Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
      Cc: Magnus Damm <damm@igel.co.jp>
      Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
      Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
      Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
      Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net>
      Cc: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
      Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
      Cc: Alex Chiang <achiang@hp.com>
      Cc: Kenji Kaneshige <kaneshige.kenji@jp.fujitsu.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Andrew Patterson <andrew.patterson@hp.com>
      Cc: Yu Zhao <yu.zhao@intel.com>
      Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>
      Cc: Samuel Ortiz <sameo@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de>
      Cc: CHENG Renquan <rqcheng@smu.edu.sg>
      Cc: Oliver Neukum <oliver@neukum.org>
      Cc: Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
      Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@csr.com>
      Cc: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
      Cc: Sarah Sharp <sarah.a.sharp@linux.intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      
      8e9394ce
    • Emese Revfy's avatar
      Driver core: Constify struct sysfs_ops in struct kobj_type · 52cf25d0
      Emese Revfy authored
      Constify struct sysfs_ops.
      
      This is part of the ops structure constification
      effort started by Arjan van de Ven et al.
      
      Benefits of this constification:
      
       * prevents modification of data that is shared
         (referenced) by many other structure instances
         at runtime
      
       * detects/prevents accidental (but not intentional)
         modification attempts on archs that enforce
         read-only kernel data at runtime
      
       * potentially better optimized code as the compiler
         can assume that the const data cannot be changed
      
       * the compiler/linker move const data into .rodata
         and therefore exclude them from false sharing
      Signed-off-by: default avatarEmese Revfy <re.emese@gmail.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarDavid Teigland <teigland@redhat.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarMatt Domsch <Matt_Domsch@dell.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarMaciej Sosnowski <maciej.sosnowski@intel.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarHans J. Koch <hjk@linutronix.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarPekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
      Acked-by: default avatarJens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarStephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      52cf25d0
    • Andi Kleen's avatar
      driver-core: Add attribute argument to class_attribute show/store · 28812fe1
      Andi Kleen authored
      Passing the attribute to the low level IO functions allows all kinds
      of cleanups, by sharing low level IO code without requiring
      an own function for every piece of data.
      
      Also drivers can extend the attributes with own data fields
      and use that in the low level function.
      
      This makes the class attributes the same as sysdev_class attributes
      and plain attributes.
      
      This will allow further cleanups in drivers.
      
      Full tree sweep converting all users.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      28812fe1
  32. 25 Feb, 2010 1 commit
    • Dan Carpenter's avatar
      uwb: remove duplicate cpu_to_le16() · bcf59e2c
      Dan Carpenter authored
      These parameters should be passed as cpu endian because we change it to
      little endian inside usb_control_msg().  On x86 cpu_to_le16() doesn't
      do anything so either way works but I think the original code would break
      on big endian systems.
      
      I removed the masks as well because that usb_control_msg() parameters
      are __u16 so we already only use the lower bits.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDan Carpenter <error27@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Vrabel <david.vrabel@csr.com>
      bcf59e2c
  33. 05 Feb, 2010 1 commit