Commit 1e43a203 authored by Luis R. Rodriguez's avatar Luis R. Rodriguez Committed by Tomi Valkeinen

video: fbdev: atmel_lcdfb: use ioremap_wc() for framebuffer

The driver doesn't use mtrr_add() or arch_phys_wc_add() but
since we know the framebuffer is isolated already on an
ioremap() we can take advantage of write combining for
performance where possible.

In this case there are a few motivations for this:

a) Take advantage of PAT when available

b) Help with the goal of eventually using _PAGE_CACHE_UC over
   _PAGE_CACHE_UC_MINUS on x86 on ioremap_nocache() (see commit
   de33c442 titled "x86 PAT: fix performance drop for glx,
   use UC minus for ioremap(), ioremap_nocache() and
   pci_mmap_page_range()")

Cc: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
Cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: default avatarLuis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
Acked-by: default avatarNicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarDave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarTomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
parent cc9866eb
......@@ -1266,7 +1266,8 @@ static int __init atmel_lcdfb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
goto stop_clk;
}
info->screen_base = ioremap(info->fix.smem_start, info->fix.smem_len);
info->screen_base = ioremap_wc(info->fix.smem_start,
info->fix.smem_len);
if (!info->screen_base) {
ret = -ENOMEM;
goto release_intmem;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment