Commit 0df9d41a authored by Yigal Korman's avatar Yigal Korman Committed by Dan Williams

mm, dax: fix DAX deadlocks (COW fault)

DAX handling of COW faults has wrong locking sequence:
	dax_fault does i_mmap_lock_read
	do_cow_fault does i_mmap_unlock_write

Ross's commit[1] missed a fix[2] that Kirill added to Matthew's
commit[3].

Original COW locking logic was introduced by Matthew here[4].

This should be applied to v4.3 as well.

[1] 0f90cc66 mm, dax: fix DAX deadlocks
[2] 52a2b53f mm, dax: use i_mmap_unlock_write() in do_cow_fault()
[3] 84317297 dax: fix race between simultaneous faults
[4] 2e4cdab0 mm: allow page fault handlers to perform the COW

Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>
Acked-by: default avatarRoss Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarYigal Korman <yigal@plexistor.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
parent ee82c9ed
......@@ -3015,9 +3015,9 @@ static int do_cow_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
} else {
/*
* The fault handler has no page to lock, so it holds
* i_mmap_lock for write to protect against truncate.
* i_mmap_lock for read to protect against truncate.
*/
i_mmap_unlock_write(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
i_mmap_unlock_read(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
}
goto uncharge_out;
}
......@@ -3031,9 +3031,9 @@ static int do_cow_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
} else {
/*
* The fault handler has no page to lock, so it holds
* i_mmap_lock for write to protect against truncate.
* i_mmap_lock for read to protect against truncate.
*/
i_mmap_unlock_write(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
i_mmap_unlock_read(vma->vm_file->f_mapping);
}
return ret;
uncharge_out:
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment