Commit 09a99820 authored by Thomas Gleixner's avatar Thomas Gleixner

timekeeping: Lift clocksource cacheline restriction

We cache all hotpath members of a clocksource in the time keeper
core. So there is no requirement in general to cache line align struct
clocksource. Remove the enforces alignment.

That allows users which need to wrap struct clocksource into their own
struct to align the struct without getting extra padding.
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Marc Gonzalez <marc_gonzalez@sigmadesigns.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Mans Rullgard <mans@mansr.com>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Nicolas Pitre <nico@linaro.org>
Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Cc: Sebastian Frias <sebastian_frias@sigmadesigns.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/alpine.DEB.2.11.1511191209000.3898@nanos
parent 1ec21837
......@@ -62,12 +62,18 @@ struct module;
* @suspend: suspend function for the clocksource, if necessary
* @resume: resume function for the clocksource, if necessary
* @owner: module reference, must be set by clocksource in modules
*
* Note: This struct is not used in hotpathes of the timekeeping code
* because the timekeeper caches the hot path fields in its own data
* structure, so no line cache alignment is required,
*
* The pointer to the clocksource itself is handed to the read
* callback. If you need extra information there you can wrap struct
* clocksource into your own struct. Depending on the amount of
* information you need you should consider to cache line align that
* structure.
*/
struct clocksource {
/*
* Hotpath data, fits in a single cache line when the
* clocksource itself is cacheline aligned.
*/
cycle_t (*read)(struct clocksource *cs);
cycle_t mask;
u32 mult;
......@@ -95,7 +101,7 @@ struct clocksource {
cycle_t wd_last;
#endif
struct module *owner;
} ____cacheline_aligned;
};
/*
* Clock source flags bits::
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment