• Jiang Liu's avatar
    mm: accurately calculate zone->managed_pages for highmem zones · 7b4b2a0d
    Jiang Liu authored
    Commit "mm: introduce new field 'managed_pages' to struct zone" assumes
    that all highmem pages will be freed into the buddy system by function
    mem_init().  But that's not always true, some architectures may reserve
    some highmem pages during boot.  For example PPC may allocate highmem
    pages for giagant HugeTLB pages, and several architectures have code to
    check PageReserved flag to exclude highmem pages allocated during boot
    when freeing highmem pages into the buddy system.
    
    So treat highmem pages in the same way as normal pages, that is to:
    1) reset zone->managed_pages to zero in mem_init().
    2) recalculate managed_pages when freeing pages into the buddy system.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarJiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
    Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com>
    Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
    Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
    Cc: <sworddragon2@aol.com>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
    Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
    Cc: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
    Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
    Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
    Cc: Tang Chen <tangchen@cn.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
    Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    7b4b2a0d
bootmem.h 5.57 KB