1. 03 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  2. 03 Jan, 2013 1 commit
    • Greg Kroah-Hartman's avatar
      ARCH: drivers remove __dev* attributes. · b881bc46
      Greg Kroah-Hartman authored
      
      
      This fixes up all of the smaller arches that had __dev* markings for
      their platform-specific drivers.
      
      CONFIG_HOTPLUG is going away as an option.  As a result, the __dev*
      markings need to be removed.
      
      This change removes the use of __devinit, __devexit_p, __devinitdata,
      __devinitconst, and __devexit from these drivers.
      
      Based on patches originally written by Bill Pemberton, but redone by me
      in order to handle some of the coding style issues better, by hand.
      
      Cc: Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@virginia.edu>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Cc: Bob Liu <lliubbo@gmail.com>
      Cc: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com>
      Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
      Cc: Myron Stowe <myron.stowe@redhat.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
      Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
      Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
      Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
      Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Jan Glauber <jang@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn>
      Cc: Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro.iwamatsu.yj@renesas.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      b881bc46
  3. 19 Dec, 2012 1 commit
  4. 03 Dec, 2012 2 commits
  5. 28 Nov, 2012 4 commits
  6. 13 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  7. 25 Oct, 2012 3 commits
  8. 19 Oct, 2012 3 commits
  9. 12 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • Jeff Layton's avatar
      vfs: define struct filename and have getname() return it · 91a27b2a
      Jeff Layton authored
      
      
      getname() is intended to copy pathname strings from userspace into a
      kernel buffer. The result is just a string in kernel space. It would
      however be quite helpful to be able to attach some ancillary info to
      the string.
      
      For instance, we could attach some audit-related info to reduce the
      amount of audit-related processing needed. When auditing is enabled,
      we could also call getname() on the string more than once and not
      need to recopy it from userspace.
      
      This patchset converts the getname()/putname() interfaces to return
      a struct instead of a string. For now, the struct just tracks the
      string in kernel space and the original userland pointer for it.
      
      Later, we'll add other information to the struct as it becomes
      convenient.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      91a27b2a
  10. 11 Oct, 2012 4 commits
  11. 09 Oct, 2012 2 commits
  12. 05 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • Jiri Kosina's avatar
      cross-arch: don't corrupt personality flags upon exec() · 16f3e95b
      Jiri Kosina authored
      Historically, the top three bytes of personality have been used for
      things such as ADDR_NO_RANDOMIZE, which made sense only for specific
      architectures.
      
      We now however have a flag there that is general no matter the
      architecture (UNAME26); generally we have to be careful to preserve the
      personality flags across exec().
      
      This patch tries to fix all architectures that forcefully overwrite
      personality flags during exec() (ppc32 and s390 have been fixed recently
      by commits f9783ec8 ("[S390] Do not clobber personality flags on
      exec") and 59e4c3a2
      
       ("powerpc/32: Don't clobber personality flags on
      exec") in a similar way already).
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      16f3e95b
  13. 04 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      UAPI: Fix the guards on various asm/unistd.h files · 89013952
      David Howells authored
      
      
      asm-generic/unistd.h and a number of asm/unistd.h files have been given
      reinclusion guards that allow the guard to be overridden if __SYSCALL is
      defined.  Unfortunately, these files define __SYSCALL and don't undefine it
      when they've finished with it, thus rendering the guard ineffective.
      
      The reason for this override is to allow the file to be #included multiple
      times with different settings on __SYSCALL for purposes like generating syscall
      tables.
      
      The following guards are problematic:
      
      arch/arm64/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(__ASM_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/arm64/include/asm/unistd32.h:#if !defined(__ASM_UNISTD32_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/c6x/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(_ASM_C6X_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/hexagon/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(_ASM_HEXAGON_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/openrisc/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(__ASM_OPENRISC_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/score/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(_ASM_SCORE_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/tile/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(_ASM_TILE_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      arch/unicore32/include/asm/unistd.h:#if !defined(__UNICORE_UNISTD_H__) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      include/asm-generic/unistd.h:#if !defined(_ASM_GENERIC_UNISTD_H) || defined(__SYSCALL)
      
      On the assumption that the guards' ineffectiveness has passed unnoticed, just
      remove these guards entirely.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      89013952
  14. 03 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  15. 02 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  16. 01 Oct, 2012 2 commits
  17. 27 Sep, 2012 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      Make most arch asm/module.h files use asm-generic/module.h · 786d35d4
      David Howells authored
      
      
      Use the mapping of Elf_[SPE]hdr, Elf_Addr, Elf_Sym, Elf_Dyn, Elf_Rel/Rela,
      ELF_R_TYPE() and ELF_R_SYM() to either the 32-bit version or the 64-bit version
      into asm-generic/module.h for all arches bar MIPS.
      
      Also, use the generic definition mod_arch_specific where possible.
      
      To this end, I've defined three new config bools:
      
       (*) HAVE_MOD_ARCH_SPECIFIC
      
           Arches define this if they don't want to use the empty generic
           mod_arch_specific struct.
      
       (*) MODULES_USE_ELF_RELA
      
           Arches define this if their modules can contain RELA records.  This causes
           the Elf_Rela mapping to be emitted and allows apply_relocate_add() to be
           defined by the arch rather than have the core emit an error message.
      
       (*) MODULES_USE_ELF_REL
      
           Arches define this if their modules can contain REL records.  This causes
           the Elf_Rel mapping to be emitted and allows apply_relocate() to be
           defined by the arch rather than have the core emit an error message.
      
      Note that it is possible to allow both REL and RELA records: m68k and mips are
      two arches that do this.
      
      With this, some arch asm/module.h files can be deleted entirely and replaced
      with a generic-y marker in the arch Kbuild file.
      
      Additionally, I have removed the bits from m32r and score that handle the
      unsupported type of relocation record as that's now handled centrally.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      786d35d4
  18. 21 Sep, 2012 1 commit
  19. 01 Sep, 2012 2 commits
    • Will Deacon's avatar
      openrisc: delay: fix handling of counter overflow · 807607f7
      Will Deacon authored
      
      
      If the counter overflows during a __delay operation, we will exit the
      loop prematurely. For example, calling __delay(0x100) with the counter
      at 0xffffff00 gives us a target of 0x0. The unsigned comparison in the
      while loop will likely be false on the first iteration (if the counter
      is now anything other than 0) and we will return early.
      
      This patch fixes the problem by comparing deltas in the loop rather than
      absolute values.
      
      Cc: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      807607f7
    • Will Deacon's avatar
      openrisc: delay: fix loops calculation for __const_udelay · 43916466
      Will Deacon authored
      
      
      The openrisc implementation of __const_udelay casts the result of a
      32-bit multiplication to 64 bits and passes the top 32 bits to __delay.
      Since there are no casts on the arguments, this results in a __delay of
      zero, regardless of the xloops parameter.
      
      This patch fixes the problem by casting xloops to (unsigned long long),
      ensuring that the multiplication is not truncated.
      
      Cc: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      43916466
  20. 28 Jun, 2012 2 commits
    • Paul Bolle's avatar
      Remove useless wrappers of asm-generic/rmap.h · 459dac82
      Paul Bolle authored
      
      
      xtensa has a header (in its include/asm directory) that is a thin
      wrapper around asm-generic/rmap.h. This wrapper is useless, since that
      header doesn't exist. It is also unused (no file includes asm/rmap.h).
      
      openrisc generates a similar header at build time (using a generic-y
      entry in include/asm/Kbuild). This generated header is useless and
      unused too.
      
      Remove this header and this generic-y entry.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
      459dac82
    • Paul Bolle's avatar
      Remove useless wrappers of asm-generic/cpumask.h · da870585
      Paul Bolle authored
      
      
      frv and xtensa both have a header (in their include/asm directories)
      that are thin wrappers around asm-generic/cpumask.h. These wrappers are
      useless, since that header doesn't exist. They are also unused (all
      files including asm/cpumask.h are x86 specific).
      
      hexagon and openrisc generate similar headers at build time (using a
      generic-y entry in include/asm/Kbuild). These generated headers are
      useless and unused too.
      
      Remove these headers and generic-y entries.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>
      Acked-by: default avatarRichard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> [FRV]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
      da870585
  21. 01 Jun, 2012 5 commits