1. 09 Apr, 2009 1 commit
  2. 02 Jan, 2009 1 commit
  3. 08 Feb, 2008 1 commit
    • Mathieu Desnoyers's avatar
      Fix FRV cmpxchg_local · 6784fd59
      Mathieu Desnoyers authored
      
      
      Fix the FRV cmpxchg_local by breaking the following header dependency loop :
      
      linux/kernel.h -> linux/bitops.h -> asm-frv/bitops.h -> asm-frv/atomic.h
        -> asm-frv/system.h ->
        asm-generic/cmpxchg_local.h -> typecheck() defined in linux/kernel.h
      
      and
      
      linux/kernel.h -> linux/bitops.h -> asm-frv/bitops.h -> asm-frv/atomic.h ->
        asm-generic/cmpxchg_local.h -> typecheck() defined in linux/kernel.h
      
      In order to fix this :
      - Move the atomic_test_and_ *_mask inlines from asm-frv/atomic.h (why are they
        there at all anyway ? They are not touching atomic_t variables!) to
        asm-frv/bitops.h.
      
      Also fix a build issue with cmpxchg : it does not cast to (unsigned long *)
      like other architectures, to deal with it in the cmpxchg_local macro.
      
      FRV builds fine with this patch.
      
      Thanks to Adrian Bunk <bunk@kernel.org> for spotting this bug.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
      Cc: Adrian Bunk <bunk@kernel.org>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      6784fd59
  4. 03 Feb, 2008 1 commit
  5. 19 Oct, 2007 1 commit
  6. 18 Oct, 2007 1 commit
    • Nick Piggin's avatar
      bitops: introduce lock ops · 26333576
      Nick Piggin authored
      
      
      Introduce test_and_set_bit_lock / clear_bit_unlock bitops with lock semantics.
      Convert all architectures to use the generic implementation.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
      Acked-By: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
      Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      26333576
  7. 08 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      [PATCH] LOG2: Implement a general integer log2 facility in the kernel · f0d1b0b3
      David Howells authored
      
      
      This facility provides three entry points:
      
      	ilog2()		Log base 2 of unsigned long
      	ilog2_u32()	Log base 2 of u32
      	ilog2_u64()	Log base 2 of u64
      
      These facilities can either be used inside functions on dynamic data:
      
      	int do_something(long q)
      	{
      		...;
      		y = ilog2(x)
      		...;
      	}
      
      Or can be used to statically initialise global variables with constant values:
      
      	unsigned n = ilog2(27);
      
      When performing static initialisation, the compiler will report "error:
      initializer element is not constant" if asked to take a log of zero or of
      something not reducible to a constant.  They treat negative numbers as
      unsigned.
      
      When not dealing with a constant, they fall back to using fls() which permits
      them to use arch-specific log calculation instructions - such as BSR on
      x86/x86_64 or SCAN on FRV - if available.
      
      [akpm@osdl.org: MMC fix]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Wojtek Kaniewski <wojtekka@toxygen.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      f0d1b0b3
  8. 26 Sep, 2006 3 commits
  9. 26 Apr, 2006 1 commit
  10. 26 Mar, 2006 2 commits
  11. 03 Feb, 2006 1 commit
  12. 03 Jan, 2006 1 commit
  13. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4