1. 16 Jun, 2009 3 commits
  2. 13 Jun, 2009 2 commits
  3. 12 Jun, 2009 17 commits
  4. 03 Jun, 2009 1 commit
  5. 31 May, 2009 1 commit
  6. 29 May, 2009 1 commit
    • Jiri Pirko's avatar
      net: convert unicast addr list · ccffad25
      Jiri Pirko authored
      
      
      This patch converts unicast address list to standard list_head using
      previously introduced struct netdev_hw_addr. It also relaxes the
      locking. Original spinlock (still used for multicast addresses) is not
      needed and is no longer used for a protection of this list. All
      reading and writing takes place under rtnl (with no changes).
      
      I also removed a possibility to specify the length of the address
      while adding or deleting unicast address. It's always dev->addr_len.
      
      The convertion touched especially e1000 and ixgbe codes when the
      change is not so trivial.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com>
      
       drivers/net/bnx2.c               |   13 +--
       drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.c   |   24 +++--
       drivers/net/ixgbe/ixgbe_common.c |   14 ++--
       drivers/net/ixgbe/ixgbe_common.h |    4 +-
       drivers/net/ixgbe/ixgbe_main.c   |    6 +-
       drivers/net/ixgbe/ixgbe_type.h   |    4 +-
       drivers/net/macvlan.c            |   11 +-
       drivers/net/mv643xx_eth.c        |   11 +-
       drivers/net/niu.c                |    7 +-
       drivers/net/virtio_net.c         |    7 +-
       drivers/s390/net/qeth_l2_main.c  |    6 +-
       drivers/scsi/fcoe/fcoe.c         |   16 ++--
       include/linux/netdevice.h        |   18 ++--
       net/8021q/vlan.c                 |    4 +-
       net/8021q/vlan_dev.c             |   10 +-
       net/core/dev.c                   |  195 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++-----------
       net/dsa/slave.c                  |   10 +-
       net/packet/af_packet.c           |    4 +-
       18 files changed, 227 insertions(+), 137 deletions(-)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      ccffad25
  7. 23 May, 2009 8 commits
  8. 22 May, 2009 1 commit
  9. 20 May, 2009 5 commits
  10. 11 May, 2009 1 commit
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      block: implement and enforce request peek/start/fetch · 9934c8c0
      Tejun Heo authored
      
      
      Till now block layer allowed two separate modes of request execution.
      A request is always acquired from the request queue via
      elv_next_request().  After that, drivers are free to either dequeue it
      or process it without dequeueing.  Dequeue allows elv_next_request()
      to return the next request so that multiple requests can be in flight.
      
      Executing requests without dequeueing has its merits mostly in
      allowing drivers for simpler devices which can't do sg to deal with
      segments only without considering request boundary.  However, the
      benefit this brings is dubious and declining while the cost of the API
      ambiguity is increasing.  Segment based drivers are usually for very
      old or limited devices and as converting to dequeueing model isn't
      difficult, it doesn't justify the API overhead it puts on block layer
      and its more modern users.
      
      Previous patches converted all block low level drivers to dequeueing
      model.  This patch completes the API transition by...
      
      * renaming elv_next_request() to blk_peek_request()
      
      * renaming blkdev_dequeue_request() to blk_start_request()
      
      * adding blk_fetch_request() which is combination of peek and start
      
      * disallowing completion of queued (not started) requests
      
      * applying new API to all LLDs
      
      Renamings are for consistency and to break out of tree code so that
      it's apparent that out of tree drivers need updating.
      
      [ Impact: block request issue API cleanup, no functional change ]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
      Cc: Mike Miller <mike.miller@hp.com>
      Cc: unsik Kim <donari75@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Clements <paul.clements@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Tim Waugh <tim@cyberelk.net>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Laurent Vivier <Laurent@lvivier.info>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@pobox.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@xensource.com>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: Adrian McMenamin <adrian@mcmen.demon.co.uk>
      Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <petkovbb@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@ru.mvista.com>
      Cc: Alex Dubov <oakad@yahoo.com>
      Cc: Pierre Ossman <drzeus@drzeus.cx>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Markus Lidel <Markus.Lidel@shadowconnect.com>
      Cc: Stefan Weinhuber <wein@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Pete Zaitcev <zaitcev@redhat.com>
      Cc: FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      9934c8c0