1. 14 Feb, 2013 1 commit
    • Al Viro's avatar
      burying unused conditionals · d64008a8
      Al Viro authored
      __ARCH_WANT_SYS_RT_SIGACTION,
      __ARCH_WANT_SYS_RT_SIGSUSPEND,
      __ARCH_WANT_COMPAT_SYS_RT_SIGSUSPEND,
      __ARCH_WANT_COMPAT_SYS_SCHED_RR_GET_INTERVAL - not used anymore
      CONFIG_GENERIC_{SIGALTSTACK,COMPAT_RT_SIG{ACTION,QUEUEINFO,PENDING,PROCMASK}} -
      can be assumed always set.
      d64008a8
  2. 03 Feb, 2013 3 commits
  3. 06 Jan, 2013 1 commit
  4. 03 Jan, 2013 1 commit
    • Greg Kroah-Hartman's avatar
      ARCH: drivers remove __dev* attributes. · b881bc46
      Greg Kroah-Hartman authored
      This fixes up all of the smaller arches that had __dev* markings for
      their platform-specific drivers.
      
      CONFIG_HOTPLUG is going away as an option.  As a result, the __dev*
      markings need to be removed.
      
      This change removes the use of __devinit, __devexit_p, __devinitdata,
      __devinitconst, and __devexit from these drivers.
      
      Based on patches originally written by Bill Pemberton, but redone by me
      in order to handle some of the coding style issues better, by hand.
      
      Cc: Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@virginia.edu>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Cc: Bob Liu <lliubbo@gmail.com>
      Cc: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com>
      Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
      Cc: Myron Stowe <myron.stowe@redhat.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
      Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
      Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
      Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
      Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Jan Glauber <jang@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn>
      Cc: Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro.iwamatsu.yj@renesas.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      b881bc46
  5. 19 Dec, 2012 2 commits
    • Al Viro's avatar
      new helper: current_user_stack_pointer() · 1ca97bb5
      Al Viro authored
      	Cross-architecture equivalent of rdusp(); default is
      user_stack_pointer(current_pt_regs()) - that works for almost all
      platforms that have usp saved in pt_regs.  The only exception from
      that is ia64 - we want memory stack, not the backing store for
      register one.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      1ca97bb5
    • Al Viro's avatar
      Bury the conditionals from kernel_thread/kernel_execve series · ae903caa
      Al Viro authored
      All architectures have
      	CONFIG_GENERIC_KERNEL_THREAD
      	CONFIG_GENERIC_KERNEL_EXECVE
      	__ARCH_WANT_SYS_EXECVE
      None of them have __ARCH_WANT_KERNEL_EXECVE and there are only two callers
      of kernel_execve() (which is a trivial wrapper for do_execve() now) left.
      Kill the conditionals and make both callers use do_execve().
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      ae903caa
  6. 04 Dec, 2012 3 commits
    • Greg Ungerer's avatar
      m68knommu: add clock creation support macro for other ColdFire CPUs · 610ac938
      Greg Ungerer authored
      The clock support code for ColdFire CPUs currently supports those that
      have the clock control register PPMCR. Expose the struct clk for all CPU
      types and add a definition for all other ColdFire CPU types.
      
      With this we will be able to define simple clock trees for all ColdFire
      CPU types, even though they will not be able to be enabled or disabled.
      They will be able to report the clock rate.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      610ac938
    • Greg Ungerer's avatar
      m68knommu: make non-MMU page_to_virt() return a void * · 3c460417
      Greg Ungerer authored
      The page_to_virt() macro for m68knommu is currently effectively returning
      an int type. But the equivilent m68k macro returns a void * virtual address.
      Modify the non-MMU macro to return a void * as well (using the __va macro).
      
      This change will remove compiler warnings in common m68k code that use this
      macro.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      3c460417
    • Greg Ungerer's avatar
      m68knommu: merge ColdFire 5249 and 525x definitions · 5a4acf3e
      Greg Ungerer authored
      The ColdFire 5249 and 525x family of SoCs are very similar. Most of the
      internals are the same, and are mapped the same. We can use a single set of
      peripheral definitions for all of them.
      
      So merge the current m5249sim.h and m525xsim.h definitions into a single
      file. The 5249 is now obsolete, and the 525x parts are current, so I have
      chosen to move everything into the existing m525xsim.h file.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      5a4acf3e
  7. 28 Nov, 2012 3 commits
  8. 18 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  9. 14 Nov, 2012 4 commits
  10. 13 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  11. 01 Nov, 2012 1 commit
    • Pavel Emelyanov's avatar
      sk-filter: Add ability to get socket filter program (v2) · a8fc9277
      Pavel Emelyanov authored
      The SO_ATTACH_FILTER option is set only. I propose to add the get
      ability by using SO_ATTACH_FILTER in getsockopt. To be less
      irritating to eyes the SO_GET_FILTER alias to it is declared. This
      ability is required by checkpoint-restore project to be able to
      save full state of a socket.
      
      There are two issues with getting filter back.
      
      First, kernel modifies the sock_filter->code on filter load, thus in
      order to return the filter element back to user we have to decode it
      into user-visible constants. Fortunately the modification in question
      is interconvertible.
      
      Second, the BPF_S_ALU_DIV_K code modifies the command argument k to
      speed up the run-time division by doing kernel_k = reciprocal(user_k).
      Bad news is that different user_k may result in same kernel_k, so we
      can't get the original user_k back. Good news is that we don't have
      to do it. What we need to is calculate a user2_k so, that
      
        reciprocal(user2_k) == reciprocal(user_k) == kernel_k
      
      i.e. if it's re-loaded back the compiled again value will be exactly
      the same as it was. That said, the user2_k can be calculated like this
      
        user2_k = reciprocal(kernel_k)
      
      with an exception, that if kernel_k == 0, then user2_k == 1.
      
      The optlen argument is treated like this -- when zero, kernel returns
      the amount of sock_fprog elements in filter, otherwise it should be
      large enough for the sock_fprog array.
      
      changes since v1:
      * Declared SO_GET_FILTER in all arch headers
      * Added decode of vlan-tag codes
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      a8fc9277
  12. 19 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  13. 17 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  14. 15 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  15. 09 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  16. 05 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • Jiri Kosina's avatar
      cross-arch: don't corrupt personality flags upon exec() · 16f3e95b
      Jiri Kosina authored
      Historically, the top three bytes of personality have been used for
      things such as ADDR_NO_RANDOMIZE, which made sense only for specific
      architectures.
      
      We now however have a flag there that is general no matter the
      architecture (UNAME26); generally we have to be careful to preserve the
      personality flags across exec().
      
      This patch tries to fix all architectures that forcefully overwrite
      personality flags during exec() (ppc32 and s390 have been fixed recently
      by commits f9783ec8 ("[S390] Do not clobber personality flags on
      exec") and 59e4c3a2 ("powerpc/32: Don't clobber personality flags on
      exec") in a similar way already).
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      16f3e95b
  17. 03 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  18. 02 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  19. 30 Sep, 2012 3 commits
    • Al Viro's avatar
      m68k: switch to generic sys_execve()/kernel_execve() · d878d6da
      Al Viro authored
      The tricky part here is that task_pt_regs() on m68k works *only* for
      process inside do_signal().  However, we need something much simpler -
      pt_regs of a process inside do_signal() may be at different offsets
      from the stack bottom, depending on the way we'd entered the kernel,
      but for a task inside sys_execve() it *is* at constant offset.
      Moreover, for a kernel thread about to become a userland process the
      same location is also fine - setting sp to that will leave the kernel
      stack pointer at the very bottom of the kernel stack when we finally
      switch to userland.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      d878d6da
    • Al Viro's avatar
      533e6903
    • Greg Ungerer's avatar
      m68k: always set stack frame format for ColdFire on thread start · 0973c687
      Greg Ungerer authored
      The stack frame "format" field needs to be explicitly set on thread creation
      on ColdFire. For a normal long word aligned user stack pointer the frame
      format is 0x4.
      
      We were doing this for non-MMU ColdFire, but not for the case with MMU enabled.
      So fix it so we always do it if targeting ColdFire.
      
      The old code happend to rely on the stack frame format being inhereted from
      the process calling exec. Furture changes means that may not always work,
      so we really do want to set it explicitly.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      0973c687
  20. 27 Sep, 2012 9 commits