1. 10 Aug, 2011 8 commits
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      qlogic: Move the QLogic drivers · aa43c215
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the QLogic drivers into drivers/net/ethernet/qlogic/ and
      the necessary Kconfig and Makefile changes.
      
      CC: Ron Mercer <ron.mercer@qlogic.com>
      CC: Amit Kumar Salecha <amit.salecha@qlogic.com>
      CC: Anirban Chakraborty <anirban.chakraborty@qlogic.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarAnirban Chakraborty <anirban.chakraborty@qlogic.com>
      aa43c215
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      intel: Move the Intel wired LAN drivers · dee1ad47
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the Intel wired LAN drivers into drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ and
      the necessary Kconfig and Makefile changes.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      dee1ad47
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      chelsio: Move the Chelsio drivers · f7917c00
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the drivers for the Chelsio chipsets into
      drivers/net/ethernet/chelsio/ and the necessary Kconfig and Makefile
      changes.
      
      CC: Divy Le Ray <divy@chelsio.com>
      CC: Dimitris Michailidis <dm@chelsio.com>
      CC: Casey Leedom <leedom@chelsio.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      f7917c00
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      broadcom: Move the Broadcom drivers · adfc5217
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the drivers for Broadcom devices into
      drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/ and the necessary Kconfig and Makefile
      changes.
      
      CC: Eilon Greenstein <eilong@broadcom.com>
      CC: Michael Chan <mchan@broadcom.com>
      CC: Matt Carlson <mcarlson@broadcom.com>
      CC: Gary Zambrano <zambrano@broadcom.com>
      CC: "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@linux-mips.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      adfc5217
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      8390: Move the 8390 related drivers · 644570b8
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the drivers for the National Semi-conductor 8390 chipset into
      drivers/net/ethernet/8390/ and the necessary Kconfig and Makefile
      changes.
      
      CC: Donald Becker <becker@scyld.com>
      CC: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
      CC: Alain Malek <alain.malek@cryogen.com>
      CC: Peter De Schrijver <p2@mind.be>
      CC: "David Huggins-Daines" <dhd@debian.org>
      CC: Wim Dumon <wimpie@kotnet.org>
      CC: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      CC: David Hinds <dahinds@users.sourceforge.net>
      CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      644570b8
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      amd: Move AMD (Lance) chipset drivers · b955f6ca
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the drivers for the AMD chipsets into drivers/net/ethernet/amd/
      and the necessary Kconfig and Makfile changes.
      
      The au1000 (Alchemy) driver was also moved into the same directory
      even though it is not a "Lance" driver.
      
      CC: Peter Maydell <pmaydell@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
      CC: Roman Hodek <Roman.Hodek@informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
      CC: "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@linux-mips.org>
      CC: Donald Becker <becker@scyld.com>
      CC: Sam Creasey <sammy@users.qual.net>
      CC: Miguel de Icaza <miguel@nuclecu.unam.mx>
      CC: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
      CC: Don Fry <pcnet32@frontier.com>
      CC: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      CC: David Davies <davies@maniac.ultranet.com>
      CC: "M.Hipp" <hippm@informatik.uni-tuebingen.de>
      CC: Pete Popov <ppopov@embeddedalley.com>
      CC: David Hinds <dahinds@users.sourceforge.net>
      CC: "Roger C. Pao" <rpao@paonet.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      b955f6ca
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      3c*/acenic/typhoon: Move 3Com Ethernet drivers · ca7a8e85
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      Moves the 3Com drivers into drivers/net/ethernet/3com/ and the necessary
      Kconfig and Makefile changes.
      
      Did not move the following drivers becuase they use a non-3Com
      chipset: 3c503, 3c505, 3c507, 3c523 and 3c527
      
      CC: Steffen Klassert <klassert@mathematik.tu-chemnitz.de>
      CC: David Dillow <dave@thedillows.org>
      CC: Jes Sorensen <jes@trained-monkey.org>
      CC: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
      CC: David Hinds <dahinds@users.sourceforge.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarDavid Dillow <dave@thedillows.org>
      ca7a8e85
    • Jeff Kirsher's avatar
      drivers/net/ethernet: Add ethernet dir and config option · c1abc95b
      Jeff Kirsher authored
      
      
      This is the initial patch to organize the drivers/net directory
      structure and networking device driver config options.  This patch
      does the following:
        - add drivers/net/ethernet/Kconfig
        - integrate the new files into the existing config
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
      c1abc95b
  2. 08 Aug, 2011 1 commit
  3. 07 Aug, 2011 27 commits
  4. 06 Aug, 2011 4 commits
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Merge branch 'for-linus' of git://git.open-osd.org/linux-open-osd · c2f340a6
      Linus Torvalds authored
      * 'for-linus' of git://git.open-osd.org/linux-open-osd:
        ore: Make ore its own module
        exofs: Rename raid engine from exofs/ios.c => ore
        exofs: ios: Move to a per inode components & device-table
        exofs: Move exofs specific osd operations out of ios.c
        exofs: Add offset/length to exofs_get_io_state
        exofs: Fix truncate for the raid-groups case
        exofs: Small cleanup of exofs_fill_super
        exofs: BUG: Avoid sbi realloc
        exofs: Remove pnfs-osd private definitions
        nfs_xdr: Move nfs4_string definition out of #ifdef CONFIG_NFS_V4
      c2f340a6
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      vfs: optimize inode cache access patterns · 3ddcd056
      Linus Torvalds authored
      
      
      The inode structure layout is largely random, and some of the vfs paths
      really do care.  The path lookup in particular is already quite D$
      intensive, and profiles show that accessing the 'inode->i_op->xyz'
      fields is quite costly.
      
      We already optimized the dcache to not unnecessarily load the d_op
      structure for members that are often NULL using the DCACHE_OP_xyz bits
      in dentry->d_flags, and this does something very similar for the inode
      ops that are used during pathname lookup.
      
      It also re-orders the fields so that the fields accessed by 'stat' are
      together at the beginning of the inode structure, and roughly in the
      order accessed.
      
      The effect of this seems to be in the 1-2% range for an empty kernel
      "make -j" run (which is fairly kernel-intensive, mostly in filename
      lookup), so it's visible.  The numbers are fairly noisy, though, and
      likely depend a lot on exact microarchitecture.  So there's more tuning
      to be done.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      3ddcd056
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      vfs: renumber DCACHE_xyz flags, remove some stale ones · 830c0f0e
      Linus Torvalds authored
      
      
      Gcc tends to generate better code with small integers, including the
      DCACHE_xyz flag tests - so move the common ones to be first in the list.
      Also just remove the unused DCACHE_INOTIFY_PARENT_WATCHED and
      DCACHE_AUTOFS_PENDING values, their users no longer exists in the source
      tree.
      
      And add a "unlikely()" to the DCACHE_OP_COMPARE test, since we want the
      common case to be a nice straight-line fall-through.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      830c0f0e
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Merge git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/davem/net · 7cd4767e
      Linus Torvalds authored
      * git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/davem/net:
        net: Compute protocol sequence numbers and fragment IDs using MD5.
        crypto: Move md5_transform to lib/md5.c
      7cd4767e