1. 04 Jul, 2006 2 commits
    • Zach Brown's avatar
      [PATCH] mthca: initialize send and receive queue locks separately · a46f9484
      Zach Brown authored
      
      
      mthca: initialize send and receive queue locks separately
      
      lockdep identifies a lock by the call site of its initialization.  By
      initializing the send and receive queue locks in mthca_wq_init() we confuse
      lockdep.  It warns that that the ordered acquiry of both locks in
      mthca_modify_qp() is recursive acquiry of one lock:
      
        =============================================
        [ INFO: possible recursive locking detected ]
        ---------------------------------------------
        modprobe/1192 is trying to acquire lock:
         (&wq->lock){....}, at: [<f892b4db>] mthca_modify_qp+0x60/0xa7b [ib_mthca]
        but task is already holding lock:
         (&wq->lock){....}, at: [<f892b4ce>] mthca_modify_qp+0x53/0xa7b [ib_mthca]
      
      Initializing the locks separately in mthca_alloc_qp_common() stops the
      warning and will let lockdep enforce proper ordering on paths that acquire
      both locks.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarZach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com>
      Cc: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
      Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      a46f9484
    • Yasunori Goto's avatar
      [PATCH] Fix copying of pgdat array on each node for ia64 memory hotplug · dd8041f1
      Yasunori Goto authored
      
      
      I found a bug in memory hot-add code for ia64.
      
      IA64's code has copies of pgdat's array on each node to reduce memory
      access over crossing node.  This array is used by NODE_DATA() macro.  When
      new node is hot-added, this pgdat's array should be updated and copied on
      new node too.
      
      However, I used for_each_online_node() in scatter_node_data() to copy
      it. This meant its array is not copied on new node.
      Because initialization of structures for new node was halfway,
      so online_node_map couldn't be set at this time.
      
      To copy arrays on new node, I changed it to check value of pgdat_list[]
      which is source array of copies.  I tested this patch with my Memory Hotadd
      emulation on Tiger4.  This patch is for 2.6.17-git20.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarYasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      dd8041f1
  2. 03 Jul, 2006 38 commits