1. 27 Feb, 2015 1 commit
    • Catalin Marinas's avatar
      arm64: compat Fix siginfo_t -> compat_siginfo_t conversion on big endian · 9d42d48a
      Catalin Marinas authored
      
      
      The native (64-bit) sigval_t union contains sival_int (32-bit) and
      sival_ptr (64-bit). When a compat application invokes a syscall that
      takes a sigval_t value (as part of a larger structure, e.g.
      compat_sys_mq_notify, compat_sys_timer_create), the compat_sigval_t
      union is converted to the native sigval_t with sival_int overlapping
      with either the least or the most significant half of sival_ptr,
      depending on endianness. When the corresponding signal is delivered to a
      compat application, on big endian the current (compat_uptr_t)sival_ptr
      cast always returns 0 since sival_int corresponds to the top part of
      sival_ptr. This patch fixes copy_siginfo_to_user32() so that sival_int
      is copied to the compat_siginfo_t structure.
      
      Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
      Reported-by: default avatarBamvor Jian Zhang <bamvor.zhangjian@huawei.com>
      Tested-by: default avatarBamvor Jian Zhang <bamvor.zhangjian@huawei.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      9d42d48a
  2. 12 Feb, 2015 1 commit
    • Andy Lutomirski's avatar
      all arches, signal: move restart_block to struct task_struct · f56141e3
      Andy Lutomirski authored
      
      
      If an attacker can cause a controlled kernel stack overflow, overwriting
      the restart block is a very juicy exploit target.  This is because the
      restart_block is held in the same memory allocation as the kernel stack.
      
      Moving the restart block to struct task_struct prevents this exploit by
      making the restart_block harder to locate.
      
      Note that there are other fields in thread_info that are also easy
      targets, at least on some architectures.
      
      It's also a decent simplification, since the restart code is more or less
      identical on all architectures.
      
      [james.hogan@imgtec.com: metag: align thread_info::supervisor_stack]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
      Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Acked-by: default avatarRichard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
      Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc)
      Tested-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc)
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.linux@gmail.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
      Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
      Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJames Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      f56141e3
  3. 23 Jan, 2015 1 commit
    • Suzuki K. Poulose's avatar
      arm64: Emulate SETEND for AArch32 tasks · 2d888f48
      Suzuki K. Poulose authored
      
      
      Emulate deprecated 'setend' instruction for AArch32 bit tasks.
      
      	setend [le/be] - Sets the endianness of EL0
      
      On systems with CPUs which support mixed endian at EL0, the hardware
      support for the instruction can be enabled by setting the SCTLR_EL1.SED
      bit. Like the other emulated instructions it is controlled by an entry in
      /proc/sys/abi/. For more information see :
      	Documentation/arm64/legacy_instructions.txt
      
      The instruction is emulated by setting/clearing the SPSR_EL1.E bit, which
      will be reflected in the PSTATE.E in AArch32 context.
      
      This patch also restores the native endianness for the execution of signal
      handlers, since the process could have changed the endianness.
      
      Note: All CPUs on the system must have mixed endian support at EL0. Once the
      handler is registered, hotplugging a CPU which doesn't support mixed endian,
      could lead to unexpected results/behavior in applications.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSuzuki K. Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      2d888f48
  4. 15 Jan, 2015 1 commit
  5. 28 Nov, 2014 1 commit
  6. 06 Aug, 2014 2 commits
  7. 10 Jul, 2014 1 commit
    • Catalin Marinas's avatar
      arm64: Add __NR_* definitions for compat syscalls · f3e5c847
      Catalin Marinas authored
      
      
      This patch adds __NR_* definitions to asm/unistd32.h, moves the
      __NR_compat_* definitions to asm/unistd.h and removes all the explicit
      unistd32.h includes apart from the one building the compat syscall
      table. The aim is to have the compat __NR_* definitions available but
      without colliding with the native syscall definitions (required by
      lib/compat_audit.c to avoid duplicating the audit header files between
      native and compat).
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      f3e5c847
  8. 09 May, 2014 1 commit
  9. 08 May, 2014 1 commit
    • Ard Biesheuvel's avatar
      arm64: add abstractions for FPSIMD state manipulation · c51f9269
      Ard Biesheuvel authored
      
      
      There are two tacit assumptions in the FPSIMD handling code that will no longer
      hold after the next patch that optimizes away some FPSIMD state restores:
      . the FPSIMD registers of this CPU contain the userland FPSIMD state of
        task 'current';
      . when switching to a task, its FPSIMD state will always be restored from
        memory.
      
      This patch adds the following functions to abstract away from straight FPSIMD
      register file saves and restores:
      - fpsimd_preserve_current_state -> ensure current's FPSIMD state is saved
      - fpsimd_update_current_state -> replace current's FPSIMD state
      
      Where necessary, the signal handling and fork code are updated to use the above
      wrappers instead of poking into the FPSIMD registers directly.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
      c51f9269
  10. 08 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  11. 05 Nov, 2013 1 commit
  12. 25 Oct, 2013 1 commit
  13. 18 Mar, 2013 1 commit
  14. 14 Feb, 2013 7 commits
  15. 11 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  16. 23 Nov, 2012 2 commits
  17. 11 Oct, 2012 2 commits
  18. 05 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • Denys Vlasenko's avatar
      compat: move compat_siginfo_t definition to asm/compat.h · 751f409d
      Denys Vlasenko authored
      
      
      This is a preparatory patch for the introduction of NT_SIGINFO elf note.
      
      Make the location of compat_siginfo_t uniform across eight architectures
      which have it.  Now it can be pulled in by including asm/compat.h or
      linux/compat.h.
      
      Most of the copies are verbatim.  compat_uid[32]_t had to be replaced by
      __compat_uid[32]_t.  compat_uptr_t had to be moved up before
      compat_siginfo_t in asm/compat.h on a several architectures (tile already
      had it moved up).  compat_sigval_t had to be relocated from linux/compat.h
      to asm/compat.h.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDenys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
      Cc: Amerigo Wang <amwang@redhat.com>
      Cc: "Jonathan M. Foote" <jmfoote@cert.org>
      Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com>
      Cc: Pedro Alves <palves@redhat.com>
      Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
      Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      751f409d
  19. 17 Sep, 2012 1 commit