1. 11 May, 2009 1 commit
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      block: implement and enforce request peek/start/fetch · 9934c8c0
      Tejun Heo authored
      Till now block layer allowed two separate modes of request execution.
      A request is always acquired from the request queue via
      elv_next_request().  After that, drivers are free to either dequeue it
      or process it without dequeueing.  Dequeue allows elv_next_request()
      to return the next request so that multiple requests can be in flight.
      
      Executing requests without dequeueing has its merits mostly in
      allowing drivers for simpler devices which can't do sg to deal with
      segments only without considering request boundary.  However, the
      benefit this brings is dubious and declining while the cost of the API
      ambiguity is increasing.  Segment based drivers are usually for very
      old or limited devices and as converting to dequeueing model isn't
      difficult, it doesn't justify the API overhead it puts on block layer
      and its more modern users.
      
      Previous patches converted all block low level drivers to dequeueing
      model.  This patch completes the API transition by...
      
      * renaming elv_next_request() to blk_peek_request()
      
      * renaming blkdev_dequeue_request() to blk_start_request()
      
      * adding blk_fetch_request() which is combination of peek and start
      
      * disallowing completion of queued (not started) requests
      
      * applying new API to all LLDs
      
      Renamings are for consistency and to break out of tree code so that
      it's apparent that out of tree drivers need updating.
      
      [ Impact: block request issue API cleanup, no functional change ]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
      Cc: Mike Miller <mike.miller@hp.com>
      Cc: unsik Kim <donari75@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Clements <paul.clements@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Tim Waugh <tim@cyberelk.net>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Laurent Vivier <Laurent@lvivier.info>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@pobox.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@xensource.com>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: Adrian McMenamin <adrian@mcmen.demon.co.uk>
      Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <petkovbb@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@ru.mvista.com>
      Cc: Alex Dubov <oakad@yahoo.com>
      Cc: Pierre Ossman <drzeus@drzeus.cx>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Markus Lidel <Markus.Lidel@shadowconnect.com>
      Cc: Stefan Weinhuber <wein@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Pete Zaitcev <zaitcev@redhat.com>
      Cc: FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      9934c8c0
  2. 29 Dec, 2008 1 commit
  3. 09 Oct, 2008 2 commits
  4. 27 Aug, 2008 1 commit
  5. 07 May, 2008 1 commit
    • Jens Axboe's avatar
      block: adjust tagging function queue bit locking · aa94b537
      Jens Axboe authored
      For most initialization purposes, calling blk_queue_init_tags() without
      the queue lock held is OK. Only if called for resizing an existing map
      must the lock be held. Ditto for tag cleanup, the maps are reference
      counted.
      
      So switch the general queue flag setting to the unlocked variant, but
      retain the locked variant for resizing.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      aa94b537
  6. 01 May, 2008 1 commit
  7. 29 Apr, 2008 1 commit
  8. 04 Mar, 2008 1 commit
  9. 01 Feb, 2008 1 commit
  10. 29 Jan, 2008 1 commit