1. 02 Feb, 2008 17 commits
  2. 01 Feb, 2008 4 commits
  3. 26 Jan, 2008 1 commit
  4. 25 Jan, 2008 7 commits
  5. 24 Jan, 2008 1 commit
  6. 19 Oct, 2007 2 commits
  7. 01 Aug, 2007 1 commit
  8. 09 May, 2007 3 commits
    • Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz's avatar
      ide: move IDE settings handling to ide-proc.c · 7662d046
      Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz authored
      * move
      	__ide_add_setting()
      	ide_add_setting()
      	__ide_remove_setting()
      	auto_remove_settings()
      	ide_find_setting_by_name()
      	ide_read_setting()
      	ide_write_setting()
      	set_xfer_rate()
      	ide_add_generic_settings()
      	ide_register_subdriver()
      	ide_unregister_subdriver()
      
        from ide.c to ide-proc.c
      
      * set_{io_32bit,pio_mode,using_dma}() cannot be marked static now, fix it
      
      * rename ide_[un]register_subdriver() to ide_proc_[un]register_driver(),
        update device drivers to use new names
      
      * add CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS=n versions of ide_proc_[un]register_driver()
        and ide_add_generic_settings()
      
      * make ide_find_setting_by_name(), ide_{read,write}_setting()
        and ide_{add,remove}_proc_entries() static
      
      * cover IDE settings code in device drivers with CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS #ifdef,
        also while at it cover with CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS #ifdef ide_driver_t.proc
      
      * remove bogus comment from ide.h
      
      * cover with CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS #ifdef .proc and .settings in ide_drive_t
      
      Besides saner code this patch results in the IDE core smaller by ~2 kB
      (on x86-32) and IDE disk driver by ~1 kB (ditto) when CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS=n.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
      7662d046
    • Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz's avatar
      ide: split off ioctl handling from IDE settings (v2) · 1497943e
      Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz authored
      * do write permission and min/max checks in ide_procset_t functions
      
      * ide-disk.c: drive->id is always available so cleanup "multcount" setting
        accordingly
      
      * ide-disk.c: "address" setting was incorrectly defined as type TYPE_INTA,
        fix it by using type TYPE_BYTE and updating ide_drive_t->adressing field,
        the bug didn't trigger because this IDE setting uses custom ->set function
      
      * ide.c: add set_ksettings() for handling HDIO_SET_KEEPSETTINGS ioctl
      
      * ide.c: add set_unmaskirq() for handling HDIO_SET_UNMASKINTR ioctl
      
      * handle ioctls directly in generic_ide_ioclt() and idedisk_ioctl()
        instead of using IDE settings to deal with them
      
      * remove no longer needed ide_find_setting_by_ioctl() and {read,write}_ioctl
        fields from ide_settings_t, also remove now unused TYPE_INTA handling
      
      v2:
      * add missing EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(ide_setting_sem) needed now for ide-disk
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
      1497943e
    • Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz's avatar
      ide: make /proc/ide/ optional · ecfd80e4
      Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz authored
      All important information/features should be already available through
      sysfs and ioctl interfaces.
      
      Add CONFIG_IDE_PROC_FS (CONFIG_SCSI_PROC_FS rip-off) config option,
      disabling it makes IDE driver ~5 kB smaller (on x86-32).
      
      While at it add CONFIG_PROC_FS=n versions of proc_ide_{create,destroy}()
      and remove no longer needed #ifdefs.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>
      ecfd80e4
  9. 16 Feb, 2007 2 commits
  10. 12 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  11. 13 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Robert P. J. Day's avatar
      [PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() calls · 5cbded58
      Robert P. J. Day authored
      Run this:
      
      	#!/bin/sh
      	for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do
      	  echo "De-casting $f..."
      	  perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f
      	done
      
      And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers
      to non-pointers.
      
      And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work.
      
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
      Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      5cbded58