1. 05 Oct, 2006 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      IRQ: Maintain regs pointer globally rather than passing to IRQ handlers · 7d12e780
      David Howells authored
      
      
      Maintain a per-CPU global "struct pt_regs *" variable which can be used instead
      of passing regs around manually through all ~1800 interrupt handlers in the
      Linux kernel.
      
      The regs pointer is used in few places, but it potentially costs both stack
      space and code to pass it around.  On the FRV arch, removing the regs parameter
      from all the genirq function results in a 20% speed up of the IRQ exit path
      (ie: from leaving timer_interrupt() to leaving do_IRQ()).
      
      Where appropriate, an arch may override the generic storage facility and do
      something different with the variable.  On FRV, for instance, the address is
      maintained in GR28 at all times inside the kernel as part of general exception
      handling.
      
      Having looked over the code, it appears that the parameter may be handed down
      through up to twenty or so layers of functions.  Consider a USB character
      device attached to a USB hub, attached to a USB controller that posts its
      interrupts through a cascaded auxiliary interrupt controller.  A character
      device driver may want to pass regs to the sysrq handler through the input
      layer which adds another few layers of parameter passing.
      
      I've build this code with allyesconfig for x86_64 and i386.  I've runtested the
      main part of the code on FRV and i386, though I can't test most of the drivers.
      I've also done partial conversion for powerpc and MIPS - these at least compile
      with minimal configurations.
      
      This will affect all archs.  Mostly the changes should be relatively easy.
      Take do_IRQ(), store the regs pointer at the beginning, saving the old one:
      
      	struct pt_regs *old_regs = set_irq_regs(regs);
      
      And put the old one back at the end:
      
      	set_irq_regs(old_regs);
      
      Don't pass regs through to generic_handle_irq() or __do_IRQ().
      
      In timer_interrupt(), this sort of change will be necessary:
      
      	-	update_process_times(user_mode(regs));
      	-	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING, regs);
      	+	update_process_times(user_mode(get_irq_regs()));
      	+	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING);
      
      I'd like to move update_process_times()'s use of get_irq_regs() into itself,
      except that i386, alone of the archs, uses something other than user_mode().
      
      Some notes on the interrupt handling in the drivers:
      
       (*) input_dev() is now gone entirely.  The regs pointer is no longer stored in
           the input_dev struct.
      
       (*) finish_unlinks() in drivers/usb/host/ohci-q.c needs checking.  It does
           something different depending on whether it's been supplied with a regs
           pointer or not.
      
       (*) Various IRQ handler function pointers have been moved to type
           irq_handler_t.
      Signed-Off-By: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      (cherry picked from 1b16e7ac850969f38b375e511e3fa2f474a33867 commit)
      7d12e780
  2. 04 Oct, 2006 1 commit
  3. 03 Oct, 2006 5 commits
  4. 02 Oct, 2006 3 commits
    • Jeff Garzik's avatar
      [PATCH] hp100: fix conditional compilation mess · 7525d4bf
      Jeff Garzik authored
      
      
      The previous hp100 changeset attempted to kill warnings, but was only
      tested on !CONFIG_ISA platforms.  The correct conditional compilation
      setup involves tested CONFIG_ISA rather than just MODULE.
      
      Fixes link on CONFIG_ISA platforms (i386) in current -git.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      7525d4bf
    • Arnd Bergmann's avatar
      [PATCH] remove remaining errno and __KERNEL_SYSCALLS__ references · 135ab6ec
      Arnd Bergmann authored
      
      
      The last in-kernel user of errno is gone, so we should remove the definition
      and everything referring to it.  This also removes the now-unused lib/execve.c
      file that was introduced earlier.
      
      Also remove every trace of __KERNEL_SYSCALLS__ that still remained in the
      kernel.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
      Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      135ab6ec
    • Eric W. Biederman's avatar
      [PATCH] file: modify struct fown_struct to use a struct pid · 609d7fa9
      Eric W. Biederman authored
      
      
      File handles can be requested to send sigio and sigurg to processes.  By
      tracking the destination processes using struct pid instead of pid_t we make
      the interface safe from all potential pid wrap around problems.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarEric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      609d7fa9
  5. 01 Oct, 2006 6 commits
  6. 29 Sep, 2006 5 commits
  7. 28 Sep, 2006 19 commits