1. 16 Feb, 2007 2 commits
  2. 12 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  3. 13 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Robert P. J. Day's avatar
      [PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() calls · 5cbded58
      Robert P. J. Day authored
      
      
      Run this:
      
      	#!/bin/sh
      	for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do
      	  echo "De-casting $f..."
      	  perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f
      	done
      
      And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers
      to non-pointers.
      
      And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work.
      
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
      Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      5cbded58
  4. 01 Oct, 2006 1 commit
  5. 30 Sep, 2006 3 commits
  6. 30 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  7. 26 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  8. 25 Jun, 2006 1 commit
    • Daniel Walker's avatar
      [PATCH] idetape gcc 4.1 warning fix · dcd96379
      Daniel Walker authored
      
      
      In both the read and write cases it will return an error if
      copy_{from/to}_user faults.  However, I let the driver try to read/write as
      much as it can just as it normally would , then finally it returns an error
      if there was one.  This was the most straight forward way to handle the
      error , since there isn't a clear way to clean up the buffers on error .
      
      I moved retval in idetape_chrdev_write() down into the actual code blocks
      since it's really once used there, and it conflicted with my ret variable.
      
      Fixes the following warning,
      
      drivers/ide/ide-tape.c: In function ‘idetape_copy_stage_from_user’:
      drivers/ide/ide-tape.c:2662: warning: ignoring return value of ‘copy_from_user’, declared with attribute warn_unused_result
      drivers/ide/ide-tape.c: In function ‘idetape_copy_stage_to_user’:
      drivers/ide/ide-tape.c:2689: warning: ignoring return value of ‘copy_to_user’, declared with attribute warn_unused_result
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDaniel Walker <dwalker@mvista.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      dcd96379
  9. 28 Mar, 2006 1 commit
  10. 23 Mar, 2006 1 commit
  11. 13 Jan, 2006 1 commit
  12. 04 Jan, 2006 1 commit
    • Kay Sievers's avatar
      [PATCH] ide: MODALIAS support for autoloading of ide-cd, ide-disk, ... · 263756ec
      Kay Sievers authored
      IDE: MODALIAS support for autoloading of ide-cd, ide-disk, ...
      
      Add MODULE_ALIAS to IDE midlayer modules: ide-disk, ide-cd, ide-floppy and
      ide-tape, to autoload these modules depending on the probed media type of
      the IDE device.
      
      It is used by udev and replaces the former agent shell script of the hotplug
      package, which was required to lookup the media type in the proc filesystem.
      Using proc was racy, cause the media file is created after the hotplug event
      is sent out.
      
      The module autoloading does not take any effect, until something like the
      following udev rule is configured:
        SUBSYSTEM=="ide",  ACTION=="add", ENV{MODALIAS}=="?*", RUN+="/sbin/modprobe $env{MODALIAS}"
      
      The module ide-scsi will not be autoloaded, cause it requires manual
      configuration. It can't be, and never was supported for automatic setup in
      the hotplug package. Adding a MODULE_ALIAS to ide-scsi for all supported
      media types, would just lead to a default blacklist entry anyway.
      
        $ modinfo ide-disk
        filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.15-rc4-g1b0997f5/kernel/drivers/ide/ide-disk.ko
        description:    ATA DISK Driver
        alias:          ide:*m-disk*
        license:        GPL
        ...
      
        $ modprobe -vn ide:m-disk
        insmod /lib/modules/2.6.15-rc4-g1b0997f5
      
      /kernel/drivers/ide/ide-disk.ko
      
        $ cat /sys/bus/ide/devices/0.0/modalias
        ide:m-disk
      
      It also adds attributes to the IDE device:
        $ tree /sys/bus/ide/devices/0.0/
        /sys/bus/ide/devices/0.0/
        |-- bus -> ../../../../../../../bus/ide
        |-- drivename
        |-- media
        |-- modalias
        |-- power
        |   |-- state
        |   `-- wakeup
        `-- uevent
      
        $ cat /sys/bus/ide/devices/0.0/{modalias,drivename,media}
        ide:m-disk
        hda
        disk
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKay Sievers <kay.sievers@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      263756ec
  13. 19 Nov, 2005 1 commit
  14. 18 Nov, 2005 1 commit
  15. 07 Nov, 2005 1 commit
  16. 28 Oct, 2005 2 commits
  17. 10 Sep, 2005 1 commit
  18. 26 May, 2005 1 commit
    • Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz's avatar
      [PATCH] convert IDE device drivers to driver-model · 8604affd
      Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz authored
      
      
      * add ide_bus_match() and export ide_bus_type
      * split ide_remove_driver_from_hwgroup() out of ide_unregister()
      * move device cleanup from ide_unregister() to drive_release_dev()
      * convert ide_driver_t->name to driver->name
      * convert ide_driver_t->{attach,cleanup} to driver->{probe,remove}
      * remove ide_driver_t->busy as ide_bus_type->subsys.rwsem
        protects against concurrent ->{probe,remove} calls
      * make ide_{un}register_driver() void as it cannot fail now
      * use driver_{un}register() directly, remove ide_{un}register_driver()
      * use device_register() instead of ata_attach(), remove ata_attach()
      * add proc_print_driver() and ide_drivers_show(), remove ide_drivers_op
      * fix ide_replace_subdriver() and move it to ide-proc.c
      * remove ide_driver_t->drives, ide_drives and drives_lock
      * remove ide_driver_t->drivers, drivers and drivers_lock
      * remove ide_drive_t->driver and DRIVER() macro
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@elka.pw.edu.pl>
      8604affd
  19. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4