1. 17 Jun, 2009 28 commits
  2. 16 Jun, 2009 3 commits
    • Randy Dunlap's avatar
      kmap_types: make most arches use generic header file · e4c9dd0f
      Randy Dunlap authored
      
      
      Convert most arches to use asm-generic/kmap_types.h.
      
      Move the KM_FENCE_ macro additions into asm-generic/kmap_types.h,
      controlled by __WITH_KM_FENCE from each arch's kmap_types.h file.
      
      Would be nice to be able to add custom KM_types per arch, but I don't yet
      see a nice, clean way to do that.
      
      Built on x86_64, i386, mips, sparc, alpha(tonyb), powerpc(tonyb), and
      68k(tonyb).
      
      Note: avr32 should be able to remove KM_PTE2 (since it's not used) and
      then just use the generic kmap_types.h file.  Get avr32 maintainer
      approval.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRandy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
      Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarMike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: "Luck Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      e4c9dd0f
    • Alexey Dobriyan's avatar
      mm: consolidate init_mm definition · bb1f17b0
      Alexey Dobriyan authored
      
      
      * create mm/init-mm.c, move init_mm there
      * remove INIT_MM, initialize init_mm with C99 initializer
      * unexport init_mm on all arches:
      
        init_mm is already unexported on x86.
      
        One strange place is some OMAP driver (drivers/video/omap/) which
        won't build modular, but it's already wants get_vm_area() export.
        Somebody should look there.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add missing #includes]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAlexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier.adi@gmail.com>
      Cc: Americo Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      bb1f17b0
    • Arnd Bergmann's avatar
      time: move PIT_TICK_RATE to linux/timex.h · 08604bd9
      Arnd Bergmann authored
      
      
      PIT_TICK_RATE is currently defined in four architectures, but in three
      different places.  While linux/timex.h is not the perfect place for it, it
      is still a reasonable replacement for those drivers that traditionally use
      asm/timex.h to get CLOCK_TICK_RATE and expect it to be the PIT frequency.
      
      Note that for Alpha, the actual value changed from 1193182UL to 1193180UL.
       This is unlikely to make a difference, and probably can only improve
      accuracy.  There was a discussion on the correct value of CLOCK_TICK_RATE
      a few years ago, after which every existing instance was getting changed
      to 1193182.  According to the specification, it should be
      1193181.818181...
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
      Cc: john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dtor@mail.ru>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      08604bd9
  3. 15 Jun, 2009 2 commits
  4. 12 Jun, 2009 2 commits
  5. 11 Jun, 2009 4 commits
  6. 08 Jun, 2009 1 commit
    • Ralf Baechle's avatar
      MIPS: Outline udelay and fix a few issues. · 5636919b
      Ralf Baechle authored
      
      
      Outlining fixes the issue were on certain CPUs such as the R10000 family
      the delay loop would need an extra cycle if it overlaps a cacheline
      boundary.
      
      The rewrite also fixes build errors with GCC 4.4 which was changed in
      way incompatible with the kernel's inline assembly.
      
      Relying on pure C for computation of the delay value removes the need for
      explicit.  The price we pay is a slight slowdown of the computation - to
      be fixed on another day.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRalf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      5636919b