1. 25 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  2. 24 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  3. 23 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  4. 17 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  5. 14 Feb, 2013 8 commits
  6. 11 Feb, 2013 3 commits
  7. 31 Jan, 2013 2 commits
  8. 29 Jan, 2013 7 commits
  9. 22 Jan, 2013 3 commits
    • Catalin Marinas's avatar
      arm64: Add simple earlyprintk support · 2475ff9d
      Catalin Marinas authored
      This patch adds support for "earlyprintk=" parameter on the kernel
      command line. The format is:
      
        earlyprintk=<name>[,<addr>][,<options>]
      
      where <name> is the name of the (UART) device, e.g. "pl011", <addr> is
      the I/O address. The <options> aren't currently used.
      
      The mapping of the earlyprintk device is done very early during kernel
      boot and there are restrictions on which functions it can call. A
      special early_io_map() function is added which creates the mapping from
      the pre-defined EARLY_IOBASE to the device I/O address passed via the
      kernel parameter. The pgd entry corresponding to EARLY_IOBASE is
      pre-populated in head.S during kernel boot.
      
      Only PL011 is currently supported and it is assumed that the interface
      is already initialised by the boot loader before the kernel is started.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      2475ff9d
    • Catalin Marinas's avatar
      arm64: Populate the platform devices · d6bafb9b
      Catalin Marinas authored
      This patch add a device_initcall() to populate the platform devices
      (of_default_bus_match_table). This allows SoC implementations that do
      not require earlier initcalls to avoid any platform-specific code under
      arch/arm64.
      
      GIC and generic timer initialisation is done via FDT and CPU notifiers
      independently of the SoC code.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      d6bafb9b
    • Will Deacon's avatar
      arm64: elf: fix core dumping to match what glibc expects · 9cf2b72b
      Will Deacon authored
      The kernel's internal definition of ELF_NGREG uses struct pt_regs, which
      means that we disagree with userspace on the size of coredumps since
      glibc correctly uses the user-visible struct user_pt_regs.
      
      This patch fixes our ELF_NGREG definition to use struct user_pt_regs
      and introduces our own ELF_CORE_COPY_REGS to convert between the user
      and kernel structure definitions.
      
      Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      9cf2b72b
  10. 15 Jan, 2013 1 commit
  11. 14 Jan, 2013 1 commit
  12. 10 Jan, 2013 3 commits
  13. 04 Jan, 2013 1 commit
  14. 03 Jan, 2013 1 commit
    • Greg Kroah-Hartman's avatar
      ARCH: drivers remove __dev* attributes. · b881bc46
      Greg Kroah-Hartman authored
      This fixes up all of the smaller arches that had __dev* markings for
      their platform-specific drivers.
      
      CONFIG_HOTPLUG is going away as an option.  As a result, the __dev*
      markings need to be removed.
      
      This change removes the use of __devinit, __devexit_p, __devinitdata,
      __devinitconst, and __devexit from these drivers.
      
      Based on patches originally written by Bill Pemberton, but redone by me
      in order to handle some of the coding style issues better, by hand.
      
      Cc: Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@virginia.edu>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Cc: Bob Liu <lliubbo@gmail.com>
      Cc: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com>
      Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
      Cc: Myron Stowe <myron.stowe@redhat.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
      Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
      Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
      Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
      Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
      Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Jan Glauber <jang@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn>
      Cc: Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro.iwamatsu.yj@renesas.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      b881bc46
  15. 02 Jan, 2013 2 commits
  16. 19 Dec, 2012 2 commits
    • Al Viro's avatar
      new helper: compat_user_stack_pointer() · 9b064fc3
      Al Viro authored
      Compat counterpart of current_user_stack_pointer(); for most of the biarch
      architectures those two are identical, but e.g. arm64 and arm use different
      registers for stack pointer...
      
      Note that amd64 variants of current_user_stack_pointer/compat_user_stack_pointer
      do *not* rely on pt_regs having been through FIXUP_TOP_OF_STACK.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      9b064fc3
    • Al Viro's avatar
      Bury the conditionals from kernel_thread/kernel_execve series · ae903caa
      Al Viro authored
      All architectures have
      	CONFIG_GENERIC_KERNEL_THREAD
      	CONFIG_GENERIC_KERNEL_EXECVE
      	__ARCH_WANT_SYS_EXECVE
      None of them have __ARCH_WANT_KERNEL_EXECVE and there are only two callers
      of kernel_execve() (which is a trivial wrapper for do_execve() now) left.
      Kill the conditionals and make both callers use do_execve().
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      ae903caa
  17. 17 Dec, 2012 1 commit
  18. 10 Dec, 2012 1 commit