1. 21 Mar, 2016 1 commit
  2. 26 Feb, 2016 1 commit
    • Lorenzo Pieralisi's avatar
      drivers/perf: arm_pmu: implement CPU_PM notifier · da4e4f18
      Lorenzo Pieralisi authored
      When a CPU is suspended (either through suspend-to-RAM or CPUidle),
      its PMU registers content can be lost, which means that counters
      registers values that were initialized on power down entry have to be
      reprogrammed on power-up to make sure the counters set-up is preserved
      (ie on power-up registers take the reset values on Cold or Warm reset,
      which can be architecturally UNKNOWN).
      
      To guarantee seamless profiling conditions across a core power down
      this patch adds a CPU PM notifier to ARM pmus, that upon CPU PM
      entry/exit from low-power states saves/restores the pmu registers
      set-up (by using the ARM perf API), so that the power-down/up cycle does
      not affect the perf behaviour (apart from a black-out period between
      power-up/down CPU PM notifications that is unavoidable).
      
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
      Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
      Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarAshwin Chaugule <ashwin.chaugule@linaro.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarKevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      da4e4f18
  3. 09 Feb, 2016 1 commit
    • Dirk Behme's avatar
      drivers/perf: arm_pmu: make info messages more verbose · c6b90653
      Dirk Behme authored
      On a big.LITTLE system e.g. with Cortex A57 and A53 in case not all cores
      are online at PMU probe time we might get
      
      hw perfevents: failed to probe PMU!
      hw perfevents: failed to register PMU devices!
      
      making it unclear which cores failed, here.
      
      Add the device tree full name which failed and the error value resulting
      in a more verbose and helpful message like
      
      hw perfevents: /soc/pmu_a53: failed to probe PMU! Error -6
      hw perfevents: /soc/pmu_a53: failed to register PMU devices! Error -6
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDirk Behme <dirk.behme@de.bosch.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      c6b90653
  4. 25 Jan, 2016 1 commit
  5. 16 Nov, 2015 1 commit
    • Mark Rutland's avatar
      drivers/perf: kill armpmu_register · b916b785
      Mark Rutland authored
      Nothing outside of drivers/perf/arm_pmu.c should call armpmu_register
      any more, so it no longer needs to be in include/linux/perf/arm_pmu.h.
      Additionally, by folding it in to arm_pmu_device_probe we can allow
      drivers to override struct pmu fields without getting blatted by the
      armpmu code.
      
      This patch folds armpmu_register into arm_pmu_device_probe. The logging
      to the console is moved to after the PMU is successfully registered with
      the core perf code.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Suggested-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Drew Richardson <drew.richardson@arm.com>
      Cc: Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      b916b785
  6. 15 Oct, 2015 1 commit
  7. 07 Oct, 2015 1 commit
  8. 31 Jul, 2015 1 commit
    • Mark Rutland's avatar
      arm: perf: factor arm_pmu core out to drivers · fa8ad788
      Mark Rutland authored
      To enable sharing of the arm_pmu code with arm64, this patch factors it
      out to drivers/perf/. A new drivers/perf directory is added for
      performance monitor drivers to live under.
      
      MAINTAINERS is updated accordingly. Files added previously without a
      corresponsing MAINTAINERS update (perf_regs.c, perf_callchain.c, and
      perf_event.h) are also added.
      
      Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      [will: augmented Kconfig help slightly]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      fa8ad788