1. 20 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  2. 07 Jun, 2016 1 commit
  3. 13 Aug, 2015 1 commit
  4. 29 Jul, 2015 1 commit
    • Christoph Hellwig's avatar
      block: add a bi_error field to struct bio · 4246a0b6
      Christoph Hellwig authored
      Currently we have two different ways to signal an I/O error on a BIO:
      
       (1) by clearing the BIO_UPTODATE flag
       (2) by returning a Linux errno value to the bi_end_io callback
      
      The first one has the drawback of only communicating a single possible
      error (-EIO), and the second one has the drawback of not beeing persistent
      when bios are queued up, and are not passed along from child to parent
      bio in the ever more popular chaining scenario.  Having both mechanisms
      available has the additional drawback of utterly confusing driver authors
      and introducing bugs where various I/O submitters only deal with one of
      them, and the others have to add boilerplate code to deal with both kinds
      of error returns.
      
      So add a new bi_error field to store an errno value directly in struct
      bio and remove the existing mechanisms to clean all this up.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarHannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarNeilBrown <neilb@suse.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
      4246a0b6
  5. 11 Jul, 2015 1 commit
  6. 22 May, 2015 1 commit
    • Mike Snitzer's avatar
      block: remove management of bi_remaining when restoring original bi_end_io · 326e1dbb
      Mike Snitzer authored
      Commit c4cf5261 ("bio: skip atomic inc/dec of ->bi_remaining for
      non-chains") regressed all existing callers that followed this pattern:
       1) saving a bio's original bi_end_io
       2) wiring up an intermediate bi_end_io
       3) restoring the original bi_end_io from intermediate bi_end_io
       4) calling bio_endio() to execute the restored original bi_end_io
      
      The regression was due to BIO_CHAIN only ever getting set if
      bio_inc_remaining() is called.  For the above pattern it isn't set until
      step 3 above (step 2 would've needed to establish BIO_CHAIN).  As such
      the first bio_endio(), in step 2 above, never decremented __bi_remaining
      before calling the intermediate bi_end_io -- leaving __bi_remaining with
      the value 1 instead of 0.  When bio_inc_remaining() occurred during step
      3 it brought it to a value of 2.  When the second bio_endio() was
      called, in step 4 above, it should've called the original bi_end_io but
      it didn't because there was an extra reference that wasn't dropped (due
      to atomic operations being optimized away since BIO_CHAIN wasn't set
      upfront).
      
      Fix this issue by removing the __bi_remaining management complexity for
      all callers that use the above pattern -- bio_chain() is the only
      interface that _needs_ to be concerned with __bi_remaining.  For the
      above pattern callers just expect the bi_end_io they set to get called!
      Remove bio_endio_nodec() and also remove all bio_inc_remaining() calls
      that aren't associated with the bio_chain() interface.
      
      Also, the bio_inc_remaining() interface has been moved local to bio.c.
      
      Fixes: c4cf5261 ("bio: skip atomic inc/dec of ->bi_remaining for non-chains")
      Reviewed-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
      326e1dbb
  7. 23 Nov, 2013 7 commits
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Introduce new bio_split() · 20d0189b
      Kent Overstreet authored
      The new bio_split() can split arbitrary bios - it's not restricted to
      single page bios, like the old bio_split() (previously renamed to
      bio_pair_split()). It also has different semantics - it doesn't allocate
      a struct bio_pair, leaving it up to the caller to handle completions.
      
      Then convert the existing bio_pair_split() users to the new bio_split()
      - and also nvme, which was open coding bio splitting.
      
      (We have to take that BUG_ON() out of bio_integrity_trim() because this
      bio_split() needs to use it, and there's no reason it has to be used on
      bios marked as cloned; BIO_CLONED doesn't seem to have clearly
      documented semantics anyways.)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>
      Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
      Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      20d0189b
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Generic bio chaining · 196d38bc
      Kent Overstreet authored
      This adds a generic mechanism for chaining bio completions. This is
      going to be used for a bio_split() replacement, and it turns out to be
      very useful in a fair amount of driver code - a fair number of drivers
      were implementing this in their own roundabout ways, often painfully.
      
      Note that this means it's no longer to call bio_endio() more than once
      on the same bio! This can cause problems for drivers that save/restore
      bi_end_io. Arguably they shouldn't be saving/restoring bi_end_io at all
      - in all but the simplest cases they'd be better off just cloning the
      bio, and immutable biovecs is making bio cloning cheaper. But for now,
      we add a bio_endio_nodec() for these cases.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      196d38bc
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Remove bi_idx hacks · e90abc8e
      Kent Overstreet authored
      Now that drivers have been converted to the new bvec_iter primitives,
      there's no need to trim the bvec before we submit it; and we can't trim
      it once we start sharing bvecs.
      
      It used to be that passing a partially completed bio (i.e. one with
      nonzero bi_idx) to generic_make_request() was a dangerous thing -
      various drivers would choke on such things. But with immutable biovecs
      and our new bio splitting that shares the biovecs, submitting partially
      completed bios has to work (and should work, now that all the drivers
      have been completed to the new primitives)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      e90abc8e
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Kill bio_segments()/bi_vcnt usage · 458b76ed
      Kent Overstreet authored
      When we start sharing biovecs, keeping bi_vcnt accurate for splits is
      going to be error prone - and unnecessary, if we refactor some code.
      
      So bio_segments() has to go - but most of the existing users just needed
      to know if the bio had multiple segments, which is easier - add a
      bio_multiple_segments() for them.
      
      (Two of the current uses of bio_segments() are going to go away in a
      couple patches, but the current implementation of bio_segments() is
      unsafe as soon as we start doing driver conversions for immutable
      biovecs - so implement a dumb version for bisectability, it'll go away
      in a couple patches)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <Nagalakshmi.Nandigama@lsi.com>
      Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <Sreekanth.Reddy@lsi.com>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      458b76ed
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Convert bio_for_each_segment() to bvec_iter · 7988613b
      Kent Overstreet authored
      More prep work for immutable biovecs - with immutable bvecs drivers
      won't be able to use the biovec directly, they'll need to use helpers
      that take into account bio->bi_iter.bi_bvec_done.
      
      This updates callers for the new usage without changing the
      implementation yet.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com>
      Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Paul Clements <Paul.Clements@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Jim Paris <jim@jtan.com>
      Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com>
      Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
      Cc: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com>
      Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
      Cc: Nagalakshmi Nandigama <Nagalakshmi.Nandigama@lsi.com>
      Cc: Sreekanth Reddy <Sreekanth.Reddy@lsi.com>
      Cc: support@lsi.com
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
      Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
      Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Guo Chao <yan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
      Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
      Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>
      Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
      Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
      Cc: Quoc-Son Anh <quoc-sonx.anh@intel.com>
      Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
      Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com>
      Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
      Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
      Cc: "Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
      Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
      Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: drbd-user@lists.linbit.com
      Cc: nbd-general@lists.sourceforge.net
      Cc: cbe-oss-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: xen-devel@lists.xensource.com
      Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
      Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: DL-MPTFusionLinux@lsi.com
      Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: devel@driverdev.osuosl.org
      Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: cluster-devel@redhat.com
      Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
      Acked-by: default avatarGeoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      7988613b
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Convert bio_iovec() to bvec_iter · a4ad39b1
      Kent Overstreet authored
      For immutable biovecs, we'll be introducing a new bio_iovec() that uses
      our new bvec iterator to construct a biovec, taking into account
      bvec_iter->bi_bvec_done - this patch updates existing users for the new
      usage.
      
      Some of the existing users really do need a pointer into the bvec array
      - those uses are all going to be removed, but we'll need the
      functionality from immutable to remove them - so for now rename the
      existing bio_iovec() -> __bio_iovec(), and it'll be removed in a couple
      patches.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com>
      Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
      Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      a4ad39b1
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      block: Abstract out bvec iterator · 4f024f37
      Kent Overstreet authored
      Immutable biovecs are going to require an explicit iterator. To
      implement immutable bvecs, a later patch is going to add a bi_bvec_done
      member to this struct; for now, this patch effectively just renames
      things.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <kmo@daterainc.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: "Ed L. Cashin" <ecashin@coraid.com>
      Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@lists.linbit.com>
      Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
      Cc: Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@inktank.com>
      Cc: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
      Cc: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com>
      Cc: ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
      Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
      Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
      Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
      Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
      Cc: Boaz Harrosh <bharrosh@panasas.com>
      Cc: Benny Halevy <bhalevy@tonian.com>
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: "Nicholas A. Bellinger" <nab@linux-iscsi.org>
      Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@fusionio.com>
      Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
      Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca>
      Cc: Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk.kim@samsung.com>
      Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
      Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@kernel.org>
      Cc: Joern Engel <joern@logfs.org>
      Cc: Prasad Joshi <prasadjoshi.linux@gmail.com>
      Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
      Cc: KONISHI Ryusuke <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
      Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
      Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>
      Cc: Ben Myers <bpm@sgi.com>
      Cc: xfs@oss.sgi.com
      Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
      Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@canonical.com>
      Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Guo Chao <yan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
      Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
      Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
      Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn>
      Cc: "Roger Pau Monné" <roger.pau@citrix.com>
      Cc: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
      Cc: Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@eu.citrix.com>
      Cc: Ian Campbell <Ian.Campbell@citrix.com>
      Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
      Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
      Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchand@redhat.com>
      Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
      Cc: Peng Tao <tao.peng@emc.com>
      Cc: Andy Adamson <andros@netapp.com>
      Cc: fanchaoting <fanchaoting@cn.fujitsu.com>
      Cc: Jie Liu <jeff.liu@oracle.com>
      Cc: Sunil Mushran <sunil.mushran@gmail.com>
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Namjae Jeon <namjae.jeon@samsung.com>
      Cc: Pankaj Kumar <pankaj.km@samsung.com>
      Cc: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
      Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>6
      4f024f37
  8. 01 Jul, 2013 1 commit
    • Kent Overstreet's avatar
      bcache: Use standard utility code · 8e51e414
      Kent Overstreet authored
      Some of bcache's utility code has made it into the rest of the kernel,
      so drop the bcache versions.
      
      Bcache used to have a workaround for allocating from a bio set under
      generic_make_request() (if you allocated more than once, the bios you
      already allocated would get stuck on current->bio_list when you
      submitted, and you'd risk deadlock) - bcache would mask out __GFP_WAIT
      when allocating bios under generic_make_request() so that allocation
      could fail and it could retry from workqueue. But bio_alloc_bioset() has
      a workaround now, so we can drop this hack and the associated error
      handling.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
      8e51e414
  9. 26 Jun, 2013 2 commits
  10. 22 Apr, 2013 1 commit
  11. 20 Apr, 2013 2 commits
  12. 23 Mar, 2013 1 commit