Commit e7470ee8 authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds

fs: buffer: do not use unnecessary atomic operations when discarding buffers

Discarding buffers uses a bunch of atomic operations when discarding
buffers because ......  I can't think of a reason.  Use a cmpxchg loop to
clear all the necessary flags.  In most (all?) cases this will be a single
atomic operations.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: move BUFFER_FLAGS_DISCARD into the .c file]
Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 6fb81a17
......@@ -1483,16 +1483,27 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(set_bh_page);
/*
* Called when truncating a buffer on a page completely.
*/
/* Bits that are cleared during an invalidate */
#define BUFFER_FLAGS_DISCARD \
(1 << BH_Mapped | 1 << BH_New | 1 << BH_Req | \
1 << BH_Delay | 1 << BH_Unwritten)
static void discard_buffer(struct buffer_head * bh)
{
unsigned long b_state, b_state_old;
lock_buffer(bh);
clear_buffer_dirty(bh);
bh->b_bdev = NULL;
clear_buffer_mapped(bh);
clear_buffer_req(bh);
clear_buffer_new(bh);
clear_buffer_delay(bh);
clear_buffer_unwritten(bh);
b_state = bh->b_state;
for (;;) {
b_state_old = cmpxchg(&bh->b_state, b_state,
(b_state & ~BUFFER_FLAGS_DISCARD));
if (b_state_old == b_state)
break;
b_state = b_state_old;
}
unlock_buffer(bh);
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment