Commit cc2383ec authored by Konstantin Khlebnikov's avatar Konstantin Khlebnikov Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: introduce arch-specific vma flag VM_ARCH_1

Combine several arch-specific vma flags into one.

before patch:

        0x00000200      0x01000000      0x20000000      0x40000000
x86     VM_NOHUGEPAGE   VM_HUGEPAGE     -               VM_PAT
powerpc -               -               VM_SAO          -
parisc  VM_GROWSUP      -               -               -
ia64    VM_GROWSUP      -               -               -
nommu   -               VM_MAPPED_COPY  -               -
others  -               -               -               -

after patch:

        0x00000200      0x01000000      0x20000000      0x40000000
x86     -               VM_PAT          VM_HUGEPAGE     VM_NOHUGEPAGE
powerpc -               VM_SAO          -               -
parisc  -               VM_GROWSUP      -               -
ia64    -               VM_GROWSUP      -               -
nommu   -               VM_MAPPED_COPY  -               -
others  -               VM_ARCH_1       -               -

And voila! One completely free bit.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp>
Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com>
Acked-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent b3b9c293
......@@ -70,6 +70,8 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
/*
* vm_flags in vm_area_struct, see mm_types.h.
*/
#define VM_NONE 0x00000000
#define VM_READ 0x00000001 /* currently active flags */
#define VM_WRITE 0x00000002
#define VM_EXEC 0x00000004
......@@ -82,12 +84,6 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
#define VM_MAYSHARE 0x00000080
#define VM_GROWSDOWN 0x00000100 /* general info on the segment */
#if defined(CONFIG_STACK_GROWSUP) || defined(CONFIG_IA64)
#define VM_GROWSUP 0x00000200
#else
#define VM_GROWSUP 0x00000000
#define VM_NOHUGEPAGE 0x00000200 /* MADV_NOHUGEPAGE marked this vma */
#endif
#define VM_PFNMAP 0x00000400 /* Page-ranges managed without "struct page", just pure PFN */
#define VM_DENYWRITE 0x00000800 /* ETXTBSY on write attempts.. */
......@@ -106,20 +102,32 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
#define VM_NORESERVE 0x00200000 /* should the VM suppress accounting */
#define VM_HUGETLB 0x00400000 /* Huge TLB Page VM */
#define VM_NONLINEAR 0x00800000 /* Is non-linear (remap_file_pages) */
#ifndef CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
#define VM_MAPPED_COPY 0x01000000 /* T if mapped copy of data (nommu mmap) */
#else
#define VM_HUGEPAGE 0x01000000 /* MADV_HUGEPAGE marked this vma */
#endif
#define VM_ARCH_1 0x01000000 /* Architecture-specific flag */
#define VM_INSERTPAGE 0x02000000 /* The vma has had "vm_insert_page()" done on it */
#define VM_NODUMP 0x04000000 /* Do not include in the core dump */
#define VM_CAN_NONLINEAR 0x08000000 /* Has ->fault & does nonlinear pages */
#define VM_MIXEDMAP 0x10000000 /* Can contain "struct page" and pure PFN pages */
#define VM_SAO 0x20000000 /* Strong Access Ordering (powerpc) */
#define VM_PAT 0x40000000 /* PAT reserves whole VMA at once (x86) */
#define VM_HUGEPAGE 0x20000000 /* MADV_HUGEPAGE marked this vma */
#define VM_NOHUGEPAGE 0x40000000 /* MADV_NOHUGEPAGE marked this vma */
#define VM_MERGEABLE 0x80000000 /* KSM may merge identical pages */
#if defined(CONFIG_X86)
# define VM_PAT VM_ARCH_1 /* PAT reserves whole VMA at once (x86) */
#elif defined(CONFIG_PPC)
# define VM_SAO VM_ARCH_1 /* Strong Access Ordering (powerpc) */
#elif defined(CONFIG_PARISC)
# define VM_GROWSUP VM_ARCH_1
#elif defined(CONFIG_IA64)
# define VM_GROWSUP VM_ARCH_1
#elif !defined(CONFIG_MMU)
# define VM_MAPPED_COPY VM_ARCH_1 /* T if mapped copy of data (nommu mmap) */
#endif
#ifndef VM_GROWSUP
# define VM_GROWSUP VM_NONE
#endif
/* Bits set in the VMA until the stack is in its final location */
#define VM_STACK_INCOMPLETE_SETUP (VM_RAND_READ | VM_SEQ_READ)
......
......@@ -1491,7 +1491,7 @@ out:
return ret;
}
#define VM_NO_THP (VM_SPECIAL|VM_INSERTPAGE|VM_MIXEDMAP|VM_SAO| \
#define VM_NO_THP (VM_SPECIAL|VM_INSERTPAGE|VM_MIXEDMAP| \
VM_HUGETLB|VM_SHARED|VM_MAYSHARE)
int hugepage_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
......
......@@ -1470,9 +1470,14 @@ int ksm_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long start,
if (*vm_flags & (VM_MERGEABLE | VM_SHARED | VM_MAYSHARE |
VM_PFNMAP | VM_IO | VM_DONTEXPAND |
VM_RESERVED | VM_HUGETLB | VM_INSERTPAGE |
VM_NONLINEAR | VM_MIXEDMAP | VM_SAO))
VM_NONLINEAR | VM_MIXEDMAP))
return 0; /* just ignore the advice */
#ifdef VM_SAO
if (*vm_flags & VM_SAO)
return 0;
#endif
if (!test_bit(MMF_VM_MERGEABLE, &mm->flags)) {
err = __ksm_enter(mm);
if (err)
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment