Commit bb722220 authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds

tracing, documentation: add a document describing how to do some performance...

tracing, documentation: add a document describing how to do some performance analysis with tracepoints

The documentation for ftrace, events and tracepoints is pretty extensive.
Similarly, the perf PCL tools help files --help are there and the code
simple enough to figure out what much of the switches mean.  However,
pulling the discrete bits and pieces together and translating that into
"how do I solve a problem" requires a fair amount of imagination.

This patch adds a simple document intended to get someone started on the
Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Li Ming Chun <macli@brc.ubc.ca>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent c9d05cfc
This diff is collapsed.
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment