Commit b2f3eebe authored by Tang Chen's avatar Tang Chen Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

x86, numa, acpi, memory-hotplug: make movable_node have higher priority



If users specify the original movablecore=nn@ss boot option, the kernel
will arrange [ss, ss+nn) as ZONE_MOVABLE.  The kernelcore=nn@ss boot
option is similar except it specifies ZONE_NORMAL ranges.

Now, if users specify "movable_node" in kernel commandline, the kernel
will arrange hotpluggable memory in SRAT as ZONE_MOVABLE.  And if users
do this, all the other movablecore=nn@ss and kernelcore=nn@ss options
should be ignored.

For those who don't want this, just specify nothing.  The kernel will
act as before.
Signed-off-by: default avatarTang Chen <tangchen@cn.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarZhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarWanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Chen Tang <imtangchen@gmail.com>
Cc: Gong Chen <gong.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Liu Jiang <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Taku Izumi <izumi.taku@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Thomas Renninger <trenn@suse.de>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: Vasilis Liaskovitis <vasilis.liaskovitis@profitbricks.com>
Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 55ac590c
......@@ -5018,9 +5018,33 @@ static void __init find_zone_movable_pfns_for_nodes(void)
nodemask_t saved_node_state = node_states[N_MEMORY];
unsigned long totalpages = early_calculate_totalpages();
int usable_nodes = nodes_weight(node_states[N_MEMORY]);
struct memblock_type *type = &memblock.memory;
/* Need to find movable_zone earlier when movable_node is specified. */
find_usable_zone_for_movable();
/*
* If movable_node is specified, ignore kernelcore and movablecore
* options.
*/
if (movable_node_is_enabled()) {
for (i = 0; i < type->cnt; i++) {
if (!memblock_is_hotpluggable(&type->regions[i]))
continue;
nid = type->regions[i].nid;
usable_startpfn = PFN_DOWN(type->regions[i].base);
zone_movable_pfn[nid] = zone_movable_pfn[nid] ?
min(usable_startpfn, zone_movable_pfn[nid]) :
usable_startpfn;
}
goto out2;
}
/*
* If movablecore was specified, calculate what size of
* If movablecore=nn[KMG] was specified, calculate what size of
* kernelcore that corresponds so that memory usable for
* any allocation type is evenly spread. If both kernelcore
* and movablecore are specified, then the value of kernelcore
......@@ -5046,7 +5070,6 @@ static void __init find_zone_movable_pfns_for_nodes(void)
goto out;
/* usable_startpfn is the lowest possible pfn ZONE_MOVABLE can be at */
find_usable_zone_for_movable();
usable_startpfn = arch_zone_lowest_possible_pfn[movable_zone];
restart:
......@@ -5137,6 +5160,7 @@ restart:
if (usable_nodes && required_kernelcore > usable_nodes)
goto restart;
out2:
/* Align start of ZONE_MOVABLE on all nids to MAX_ORDER_NR_PAGES */
for (nid = 0; nid < MAX_NUMNODES; nid++)
zone_movable_pfn[nid] =
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment