Commit ae3b6ab6 authored by Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo's avatar Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
Browse files

perf top: Tell the user how to unfreeze events after pressing 'f'



When the user presses 'f' to disable events the visual cues are, well,
the percentages not changing and the number of events freezing.

Be more explicit by changing the help line at the bottom of the screen
to show the following messages when 'f' is pressed:

  "Press 'f' again to re-enable the events"

And then, when 'f' is pressed again:

  "Press 'f' to disable the events or 'h'
Suggested-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-uhiswg9a9rxm5gxg7ptjskjn@git.kernel.org

Signed-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
parent 5f00b0f4
...@@ -599,7 +599,13 @@ static void *display_thread_tui(void *arg) ...@@ -599,7 +599,13 @@ static void *display_thread_tui(void *arg)
* No need to refresh, resort/decay histogram entries * No need to refresh, resort/decay histogram entries
* if we are not collecting samples: * if we are not collecting samples:
*/ */
hbt.refresh = top->evlist->enabled ? top->delay_secs : 0; if (top->evlist->enabled) {
hbt.refresh = top->delay_secs;
help = "Press 'f' to disable the events or 'h' to see other hotkeys";
} else {
help = "Press 'f' again to re-enable the events";
hbt.refresh = 0;
}
} }
done = 1; done = 1;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment