Commit a0b54add authored by Rafael Aquini's avatar Rafael Aquini Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: fix page leak at nfs_symlink()

Changes in commit a0b8cab3 ("mm: remove lru parameter from
__pagevec_lru_add and remove parts of pagevec API") have introduced a
call to add_to_page_cache_lru() which causes a leak in nfs_symlink() as
now the page gets an extra refcount that is not dropped.

Jan Stancek observed and reported the leak effect while running test8
from Connectathon Testsuite.  After several iterations over the test
case, which creates several symlinks on a NFS mountpoint, the test
system was quickly getting into an out-of-memory scenario.

This patch fixes the page leak by dropping that extra refcount
add_to_page_cache_lru() is grabbing.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarRafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@primarydata.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>	[3.11.x+]
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1e4dd946
......@@ -1846,6 +1846,11 @@ int nfs_symlink(struct inode *dir, struct dentry *dentry, const char *symname)
GFP_KERNEL)) {
SetPageUptodate(page);
unlock_page(page);
/*
* add_to_page_cache_lru() grabs an extra page refcount.
* Drop it here to avoid leaking this page later.
*/
page_cache_release(page);
} else
__free_page(page);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment