Commit a0715cc2 authored by Alex Thorlton's avatar Alex Thorlton Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm, thp: add VM_INIT_DEF_MASK and PRCTL_THP_DISABLE

Add VM_INIT_DEF_MASK, to allow us to set the default flags for VMs.  It
also adds a prctl control which allows us to set the THP disable bit in
mm->def_flags so that VMs will pick up the setting as they are created.
Signed-off-by: default avatarAlex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>
Suggested-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1e1836e8
......@@ -177,6 +177,9 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
*/
#define VM_SPECIAL (VM_IO | VM_DONTEXPAND | VM_PFNMAP | VM_MIXEDMAP)
/* This mask defines which mm->def_flags a process can inherit its parent */
#define VM_INIT_DEF_MASK VM_NOHUGEPAGE
/*
* mapping from the currently active vm_flags protection bits (the
* low four bits) to a page protection mask..
......
......@@ -149,4 +149,7 @@
#define PR_GET_TID_ADDRESS 40
#define PR_SET_THP_DISABLE 41
#define PR_GET_THP_DISABLE 42
#endif /* _LINUX_PRCTL_H */
......@@ -530,8 +530,6 @@ static struct mm_struct *mm_init(struct mm_struct *mm, struct task_struct *p)
atomic_set(&mm->mm_count, 1);
init_rwsem(&mm->mmap_sem);
INIT_LIST_HEAD(&mm->mmlist);
mm->flags = (current->mm) ?
(current->mm->flags & MMF_INIT_MASK) : default_dump_filter;
mm->core_state = NULL;
atomic_long_set(&mm->nr_ptes, 0);
memset(&mm->rss_stat, 0, sizeof(mm->rss_stat));
......@@ -540,8 +538,15 @@ static struct mm_struct *mm_init(struct mm_struct *mm, struct task_struct *p)
mm_init_owner(mm, p);
clear_tlb_flush_pending(mm);
if (likely(!mm_alloc_pgd(mm))) {
if (current->mm) {
mm->flags = current->mm->flags & MMF_INIT_MASK;
mm->def_flags = current->mm->def_flags & VM_INIT_DEF_MASK;
} else {
mm->flags = default_dump_filter;
mm->def_flags = 0;
}
if (likely(!mm_alloc_pgd(mm))) {
mmu_notifier_mm_init(mm);
return mm;
}
......
......@@ -1996,6 +1996,21 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2, unsigned long, arg3,
if (arg2 || arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
return -EINVAL;
return current->no_new_privs ? 1 : 0;
case PR_GET_THP_DISABLE:
if (arg2 || arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
return -EINVAL;
error = !!(me->mm->def_flags & VM_NOHUGEPAGE);
break;
case PR_SET_THP_DISABLE:
if (arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
return -EINVAL;
down_write(&me->mm->mmap_sem);
if (arg2)
me->mm->def_flags |= VM_NOHUGEPAGE;
else
me->mm->def_flags &= ~VM_NOHUGEPAGE;
up_write(&me->mm->mmap_sem);
break;
default:
error = -EINVAL;
break;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment