Commit 9dc5c05f authored by Geoff Levand's avatar Geoff Levand Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

kexec: Fix make headers_check

Remove the unneded declaration for a kexec_load() routine.

Fixes errors like these when running 'make headers_check':

include/uapi/linux/kexec.h: userspace cannot reference function or variable defined in the kernel

Paul said:

: The kexec_load declaration isn't very useful for userspace, see the patch
: I submitted in http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1389791824.17407.9.camel@x220 .
: And After my attempt the export of that declaration has also been
: discussed in
: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/115373b6ac68ee7a305975896e1c4971e8e51d4c.1408731991.git.geoff@infradead.org


:
: In that last discussion no one has been able to point to an actual user of
: it.  So, as far as I can tell, no one actually uses it.  Which makes
: sense, because including this header by itself doesn't give one access to
: a useful definition of kexec_load.  So why bother with the declaration?
Signed-off-by: default avatarGeoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Acked-by: default avatarPaul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Maximilian Attems <max@stro.at>
Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent ad699349
......@@ -55,12 +55,6 @@ struct kexec_segment {
size_t memsz;
};
/* Load a new kernel image as described by the kexec_segment array
* consisting of passed number of segments at the entry-point address.
* The flags allow different useage types.
*/
extern int kexec_load(void *, size_t, struct kexec_segment *,
unsigned long int);
#endif /* __KERNEL__ */
#endif /* _UAPILINUX_KEXEC_H */
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment