Commit 931d13f5 authored by Grygorii Strashko's avatar Grygorii Strashko Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm/memblock: debug: correct displaying of upper memory boundary



Current memblock APIs don't work on 32 PAE or LPAE extension arches
where the physical memory start address beyond 4GB.  The problem was
discussed here [3] where Tejun, Yinghai(thanks) proposed a way forward
with memblock interfaces.  Based on the proposal, this series adds
necessary memblock interfaces and convert the core kernel code to use
them.  Architectures already converted to NO_BOOTMEM use these new
interfaces and other which still uses bootmem, these new interfaces just
fallback to exiting bootmem APIs.

So no functional change in behavior.  In long run, once all the
architectures moves to NO_BOOTMEM, we can get rid of bootmem layer
completely.  This is one step to remove the core code dependency with
bootmem and also gives path for architectures to move away from bootmem.

Testing is done on ARM architecture with 32 bit ARM LAPE machines with
normal as well sparse(faked) memory model.

This patch (of 23):

When debugging is enabled (cmdline has "memblock=debug") the memblock
will display upper memory boundary per each allocated/freed memory range
wrongly.  For example:

 memblock_reserve: [0x0000009e7e8000-0x0000009e7ed000] _memblock_early_alloc_try_nid_nopanic+0xfc/0x12c

The 0x0000009e7ed000 is displayed instead of 0x0000009e7ecfff

Hence, correct this by changing formula used to calculate upper memory
boundary to (u64)base + size - 1 instead of (u64)base + size everywhere
in the debug messages.
Signed-off-by: default avatarGrygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarSantosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Acked-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul@pwsan.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1f1cd705
......@@ -643,7 +643,7 @@ int __init_memblock memblock_free(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size)
{
memblock_dbg(" memblock_free: [%#016llx-%#016llx] %pF\n",
(unsigned long long)base,
(unsigned long long)base + size,
(unsigned long long)base + size - 1,
(void *)_RET_IP_);
return __memblock_remove(&memblock.reserved, base, size);
......@@ -655,7 +655,7 @@ int __init_memblock memblock_reserve(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size)
memblock_dbg("memblock_reserve: [%#016llx-%#016llx] %pF\n",
(unsigned long long)base,
(unsigned long long)base + size,
(unsigned long long)base + size - 1,
(void *)_RET_IP_);
return memblock_add_region(_rgn, base, size, MAX_NUMNODES);
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment