Commit 8d074293 authored by Johannes Weiner's avatar Johannes Weiner Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: vmscan: remove remains of kswapd-managed zone->all_unreclaimable

shrink_zones() has a special branch to skip the all_unreclaimable()
check during hibernation, because a frozen kswapd can't mark a zone
unreclaimable.

But ever since commit 6e543d57 ("mm: vmscan: fix
do_try_to_free_pages() livelock"), determining a zone to be
unreclaimable is done by directly looking at its scan history and no
longer relies on kswapd setting the per-zone flag.

Remove this branch and let shrink_zones() check the reclaimability of
the target zones regardless of hibernation state.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Acked-by: default avatarMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <Kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1a4dc5bc
......@@ -2534,14 +2534,6 @@ out:
if (sc->nr_reclaimed)
return sc->nr_reclaimed;
/*
* As hibernation is going on, kswapd is freezed so that it can't mark
* the zone into all_unreclaimable. Thus bypassing all_unreclaimable
* check.
*/
if (oom_killer_disabled)
return 0;
/* Aborted reclaim to try compaction? don't OOM, then */
if (aborted_reclaim)
return 1;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment