Commit 7c5bd705 authored by Johannes Weiner's avatar Johannes Weiner Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: memcg: only evict file pages when we have plenty

Commit e9868505

 ("mm, vmscan: only evict file pages when we have
plenty") makes a point of not going for anonymous memory while there is
still enough inactive cache around.

The check was added only for global reclaim, but it is just as useful to
reduce swapping in memory cgroup reclaim:

    200M-memcg-defconfig-j2

                                     vanilla                   patched
    Real time              454.06 (  +0.00%)         453.71 (  -0.08%)
    User time              668.57 (  +0.00%)         668.73 (  +0.02%)
    System time            128.92 (  +0.00%)         129.53 (  +0.46%)
    Swap in               1246.80 (  +0.00%)         814.40 ( -34.65%)
    Swap out              1198.90 (  +0.00%)         827.00 ( -30.99%)
    Pages allocated   16431288.10 (  +0.00%)    16434035.30 (  +0.02%)
    Major faults           681.50 (  +0.00%)         593.70 ( -12.86%)
    THP faults             237.20 (  +0.00%)         242.40 (  +2.18%)
    THP collapse           241.20 (  +0.00%)         248.50 (  +3.01%)
    THP splits             157.30 (  +0.00%)         161.40 (  +2.59%)
Signed-off-by: default avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Satoru Moriya <satoru.moriya@hds.com>
Cc: Simon Jeons <simon.jeons@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 2a6f5124
......@@ -1700,18 +1700,20 @@ static void get_scan_count(struct lruvec *lruvec, struct scan_control *sc,
fraction[1] = 0;
denominator = 1;
goto out;
} else if (!inactive_file_is_low_global(zone)) {
/*
* There is enough inactive page cache, do not
* reclaim anything from the working set right now.
*/
fraction[0] = 0;
fraction[1] = 1;
denominator = 1;
goto out;
}
}
/*
* There is enough inactive page cache, do not reclaim
* anything from the anonymous working set right now.
*/
if (!inactive_file_is_low(lruvec)) {
fraction[0] = 0;
fraction[1] = 1;
denominator = 1;
goto out;
}
/*
* With swappiness at 100, anonymous and file have the same priority.
* This scanning priority is essentially the inverse of IO cost.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment