Commit 79f40fab authored by Grygorii Strashko's avatar Grygorii Strashko Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm/memblock: drop WARN and use SMP_CACHE_BYTES as a default alignment

Don't produce warning and interpret 0 as "default align" equal to
SMP_CACHE_BYTES in case if caller of memblock_alloc_base_nid() doesn't
specify alignment for the block (align == 0).

This is done in preparation of introducing common memblock alloc interface
to make code behavior consistent.  More details are in below thread :

	https://lkml.org/lkml/2013/10/13/117

.
Signed-off-by: default avatarGrygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarSantosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul@pwsan.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 869a84e1
......@@ -969,8 +969,8 @@ static phys_addr_t __init memblock_alloc_base_nid(phys_addr_t size,
{
phys_addr_t found;
if (WARN_ON(!align))
align = __alignof__(long long);
if (!align)
align = SMP_CACHE_BYTES;
/* align @size to avoid excessive fragmentation on reserved array */
size = round_up(size, align);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment