Commit 6e213616 authored by Thomas Gleixner's avatar Thomas Gleixner Committed by Linus Torvalds

[PATCH] irq-flags: consolidate flags for request_irq

The recent interrupt rework introduced bit value conflicts with sparc.
Instead of introducing new architecture flags mess, move the interrupt SA_
flags out of the signal namespace and replace them by interrupt related flags.

This allows to remove the obsolete SA_INTERRUPT flag and clean up the bit
field values.

This patch:

Move the interrupt related SA_ flags out of linux/signal.h and rename them to
IRQF_ .  This moves the interrupt related flags out of the signal namespace
and allows to remove the architecture dependencies.

SA_INTERRUPT is not needed by userspace and glibc so it can be removed safely.

The existing SA_ constants are kept for easy transition and will be
removed after a 6 month grace period.
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Cc: "Antonino A. Daplas" <adaplas@pol.net>
Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
Cc: Jody McIntyre <scjody@modernduck.com>
Cc: Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>                                 Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
parent d63fb6c5
......@@ -257,3 +257,12 @@ Why: Code does no longer build since at least 2.6.0, apparently there is
Who: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
---------------------------
What: Interrupt only SA_* flags
When: Januar 2007
Why: The interrupt related SA_* flags are replaced by IRQF_* to move them
out of the signal namespace.
Who: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
---------------------------
......@@ -14,6 +14,53 @@
#include <asm/ptrace.h>
#include <asm/system.h>
/*
* These correspond to the IORESOURCE_IRQ_* defines in
* linux/ioport.h to select the interrupt line behaviour. When
* requesting an interrupt without specifying a IRQF_TRIGGER, the
* setting should be assumed to be "as already configured", which
* may be as per machine or firmware initialisation.
*/
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_NONE 0x00000000
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_RISING 0x00000001
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_FALLING 0x00000002
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_HIGH 0x00000004
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_LOW 0x00000008
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_MASK (IRQF_TRIGGER_HIGH | IRQF_TRIGGER_LOW | \
IRQF_TRIGGER_RISING | IRQF_TRIGGER_FALLING)
#define IRQF_TRIGGER_PROBE 0x00000010
/*
* These flags used only by the kernel as part of the
* irq handling routines.
*
* IRQF_DISABLED - keep irqs disabled when calling the action handler
* IRQF_SAMPLE_RANDOM - irq is used to feed the random generator
* IRQF_SHARED - allow sharing the irq among several devices
* IRQF_PROBE_SHARED - set by callers when they expect sharing mismatches to occur
* IRQF_TIMER - Flag to mark this interrupt as timer interrupt
*/
#define IRQF_DISABLED 0x00000020
#define IRQF_SAMPLE_RANDOM 0x00000040
#define IRQF_SHARED 0x00000080
#define IRQF_PROBE_SHARED 0x00000100
#define IRQF_TIMER 0x00000200
/*
* Migration helpers. Scheduled for removal in 1/2007
* Do not use for new code !
*/
#define SA_INTERRUPT IRQF_DISABLED
#define SA_SAMPLE_RANDOM IRQF_SAMPLE_RANDOM
#define SA_SHIRQ IRQF_SHARED
#define SA_PROBEIRQ IRQF_PROBE_SHARED
#define SA_TRIGGER_LOW IRQF_TRIGGER_LOW
#define SA_TRIGGER_HIGH IRQF_TRIGGER_HIGH
#define SA_TRIGGER_FALLING IRQF_TRIGGER_FALLING
#define SA_TRIGGER_RISING IRQF_TRIGGER_RISING
#define SA_TRIGGER_MASK IRQF_TRIGGER_MASK
struct irqaction {
irqreturn_t (*handler)(int, void *, struct pt_regs *);
unsigned long flags;
......
......@@ -24,41 +24,40 @@
/*
* IRQ line status.
*
* Bits 0-16 are reserved for the IRQF_* bits in linux/interrupt.h
*
* IRQ types
*/
#define IRQ_INPROGRESS 1 /* IRQ handler active - do not enter! */
#define IRQ_DISABLED 2 /* IRQ disabled - do not enter! */
#define IRQ_PENDING 4 /* IRQ pending - replay on enable */
#define IRQ_REPLAY 8 /* IRQ has been replayed but not acked yet */
#define IRQ_AUTODETECT 16 /* IRQ is being autodetected */
#define IRQ_WAITING 32 /* IRQ not yet seen - for autodetection */
#define IRQ_LEVEL 64 /* IRQ level triggered */
#define IRQ_MASKED 128 /* IRQ masked - shouldn't be seen again */
#define IRQ_TYPE_NONE 0x00000000 /* Default, unspecified type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_RISING 0x00000001 /* Edge rising type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_FALLING 0x00000002 /* Edge falling type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_BOTH (IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_FALLING | IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_RISING)
#define IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_HIGH 0x00000004 /* Level high type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_LOW 0x00000008 /* Level low type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_SENSE_MASK 0x0000000f /* Mask of the above */
#define IRQ_TYPE_PROBE 0x00000010 /* Probing in progress */
/* Internal flags */
#define IRQ_INPROGRESS 0x00010000 /* IRQ handler active - do not enter! */
#define IRQ_DISABLED 0x00020000 /* IRQ disabled - do not enter! */
#define IRQ_PENDING 0x00040000 /* IRQ pending - replay on enable */
#define IRQ_REPLAY 0x00080000 /* IRQ has been replayed but not acked yet */
#define IRQ_AUTODETECT 0x00100000 /* IRQ is being autodetected */
#define IRQ_WAITING 0x00200000 /* IRQ not yet seen - for autodetection */
#define IRQ_LEVEL 0x00400000 /* IRQ level triggered */
#define IRQ_MASKED 0x00800000 /* IRQ masked - shouldn't be seen again */
#ifdef CONFIG_IRQ_PER_CPU
# define IRQ_PER_CPU 256 /* IRQ is per CPU */
# define IRQ_PER_CPU 0x01000000 /* IRQ is per CPU */
# define CHECK_IRQ_PER_CPU(var) ((var) & IRQ_PER_CPU)
#else
# define CHECK_IRQ_PER_CPU(var) 0
#endif
#define IRQ_NOPROBE 512 /* IRQ is not valid for probing */
#define IRQ_NOREQUEST 1024 /* IRQ cannot be requested */
#define IRQ_NOAUTOEN 2048 /* IRQ will not be enabled on request irq */
#define IRQ_DELAYED_DISABLE \
4096 /* IRQ disable (masking) happens delayed. */
/*
* IRQ types, see also include/linux/interrupt.h
*/
#define IRQ_TYPE_NONE 0x0000 /* Default, unspecified type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_RISING 0x0001 /* Edge rising type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_FALLING 0x0002 /* Edge falling type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_BOTH (IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_FALLING | IRQ_TYPE_EDGE_RISING)
#define IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_HIGH 0x0004 /* Level high type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_LEVEL_LOW 0x0008 /* Level low type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_SENSE_MASK 0x000f /* Mask of the above */
#define IRQ_TYPE_SIMPLE 0x0010 /* Simple type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_PERCPU 0x0020 /* Per CPU type */
#define IRQ_TYPE_PROBE 0x0040 /* Probing in progress */
#define IRQ_NOPROBE 0x02000000 /* IRQ is not valid for probing */
#define IRQ_NOREQUEST 0x04000000 /* IRQ cannot be requested */
#define IRQ_NOAUTOEN 0x08000000 /* IRQ will not be enabled on request irq */
#define IRQ_DELAYED_DISABLE 0x10000000 /* IRQ disable (masking) happens delayed. */
struct proc_dir_entry;
......
......@@ -8,32 +8,6 @@
#include <linux/list.h>
#include <linux/spinlock.h>
/*
* These values of sa_flags are used only by the kernel as part of the
* irq handling routines.
*
* SA_INTERRUPT is also used by the irq handling routines.
* SA_SHIRQ is for shared interrupt support on PCI and EISA.
* SA_PROBEIRQ is set by callers when they expect sharing mismatches to occur
*/
#define SA_SAMPLE_RANDOM SA_RESTART
#define SA_SHIRQ 0x04000000
#define SA_PROBEIRQ 0x08000000
/*
* As above, these correspond to the IORESOURCE_IRQ_* defines in
* linux/ioport.h to select the interrupt line behaviour. When
* requesting an interrupt without specifying a SA_TRIGGER, the
* setting should be assumed to be "as already configured", which
* may be as per machine or firmware initialisation.
*/
#define SA_TRIGGER_LOW 0x00000008
#define SA_TRIGGER_HIGH 0x00000004
#define SA_TRIGGER_FALLING 0x00000002
#define SA_TRIGGER_RISING 0x00000001
#define SA_TRIGGER_MASK (SA_TRIGGER_HIGH|SA_TRIGGER_LOW|\
SA_TRIGGER_RISING|SA_TRIGGER_FALLING)
/*
* Real Time signals may be queued.
*/
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment